The Walking Errands

Well, we made it. Yesterday was our last long run of the half marathon training plan. 11 miles and done. Technically, our plan only had us going to 10 miles, but Chris decided that 11 would make him feel more confident. Everybody has a number. With our 10k on Sunday, our long run got pushed to last night. We headed out around 6 while it was still light out, and the sun had set by the time we were coming home, so we got to see a lot of this.

This is an old picture. I was far too delirious to take pictures last night, but it looked like that. 

That’s another reason I love running with Chris. I never used to run alone at night, but I seriously love this view. For me, 11 miles felt a little better than last week’s 10. I drank lots of water throughout the day, so I was much better hydrated for this run. We were both totally depleted afterwards though. 11 miles is kind of long, but somehow we managed to throw together an actual dinner once we got back.

I chopped an onion, a zucchini, a red pepper and a green pepper. I tossed that along with some broccoli into a pan with some olive oil and sautéed until the veggies were soft. In a separate pan, I browned some lean ground turkey. I added the cooked turkey to the veggies and poured in a jar of marinara sauce. I let the whole thing simmer for 5 minutes then served over brown rice.

That’s not mold. It’s nutritional yeast. Maybe it is mold. is nutritional yeast mold?

 It may have tasted good. I’m not really sure. Even my taste buds were tired, but I was HANGRY so I ate it all.

After that, I pretty much collapsed in a puddle on the couch. How’s that for a rocking Friday night??

I woke up too early this morning, and started watching The Walking Dead on Netflix, which pretty much ensures I’ll never sleep again. It’s starting out a little slow for me, but I’ve heard good things, so I’m sticking with it.

Today’s my last day of being 24, and I’m ending the year strong! … with errands. I got some dresses on super clearance during a J Crew sale (seriously, 4 dresses for $60 total) because I have 47 weddings coming up this summer. They’re great, but they don’t exactly fit perfectly, so I’m headed to the tailor to see if we can remedy that. After that, I’m off to do some pampering with a manicure. I’m thinking shellac. I can’t be trusted with regular polish. Finally, I have a trip to the library to return some books and pick up some new ones.

On my list is my book club’s selection for the month

Room by Emma Donaghue 

and Julie’s book club selection for the month

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I’m still working on The Night Circus too, so I’ve got a lot or reading going on this month.

The best part of all these errands is that they’re all in my neighborhood. Any day that involves getting stuff done with zero driving, is a good day for me. Although, I have to admit, I’m not sure how my sore legs are going to carry me all this way. I’m pretty sure I’ll look like a Walker. See, I’m getting into it.

On tap for tonight is a housewarming party (also in our neighborhood!) followed by pre-birthday dinner/10k carboloading at either Hamilton Inn or Lighthorse Tavern. I’ve been to the first and loved it, but I’ve never been to the second, so I’m stuck with my usual dilemma of go with what I know is good or take a chance on something new. What to do?

That’s my day folks. Hope your Saturday is stellar!