My first car

Last night after a round of drinks in Hoboken with my work buddies Chris and I headed back to our fair city to meet up with some friends for dinner. We ended up going back (our third time) to Abbondanza Trattoria, a wonderful little Italian restaurant that recently opened in our neighborhood. I’d link to their website, but they don’t have one.

 

When they first opened, we were concerned about whether or not they’d make it. There wasn’t any press about it, and they’re sort of tucked away in the middle of nowhere. You could easily walk right by them. Last night, however, they were packed! We were pretty thrilled to see a place we’ve been rooting for actually have a wait. Luckily, we beat the crowds. After ordering the fried calamari (deelish) I had a salmon special with clams and mussels, and I just wished I’d had more room in my stomach to eat all of it. Our friends enjoyed it too.

The friends that came to visit us had actually just bought a new car! That got us talking about our first cars. Most people will say they have a soft spot in their hearts for their very first (usually) clunker. I do not. My first car was a 1985 BMW. Sounds glamorous right? Wrong. This car put me through the ringer. Everything was broken all the time. Of course the radio and windows had broken a long time ago, but once the car came into my possession I realized that the battery would frequently die, even if the car was completely shut off. I had to jump that car more times than I’d like to remember.

20120225-074641.jpg

source

It looked sort of like that but way, way worse.

It had a sun roof, which sounds fancy, but it never closed all the way, so when it would rain the car would get soaked! Worse than that though, one day after some rain storm, I was pulling out of my driveway, and as I stopped at the end to check for traffic, braking while on a decline, all the water that had been sitting on the roof of the car flowed right in through that sun roof and all over my lap. After that, I leaned to drive covered in beach towels. I must have been a sight.

The only good thing about that junker was that it got me to and from the job where I would eventually scrape up enough money to buy my very first new car! It’s the lowest end indtroductory model, nothing to blog write home about, but that car, which saved me from a life of jumper cables and wet laps, will always been my knight in shining light blue enamel armor.

Anyway, it’s Saturday here! I can hear the winds howling outside already, so today might be less of a walk-around-the-city day and more of a get-stuff-done-around-the-house day. The only things on my agenda are blueberry pancakes, a date with the spin bike and a trip to the library to return last month’s book club selection, We Need to Talk About Kevin, and pick up this month’s selection, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother. That book seems a bit heavy though, so hopefully I’ll be able to find some lighter fiction while I’m there too.

Happy Saturday!

Question: What was your first car like, dream come true, or total nightmare?

One thought on “My first car

  1. Pingback: How I made my budget « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

