Long run Sunday

So, we’re really in the thick of half marathon training now, and with that training comes everybody’s favorite weekly long run. We’re up to 6 miles now, and that takes us about an hour, so it’s something we try to plan at least our weekends around. The 40-50 mph winds yesterday meant we’d be running today. The wind around here is no joke, and running into it is similar to running with a small child on your back… not that I’ve done that.

Running yesterday meant we laid kind of low yesterday. The morning started with blueberry pancakes and eggies that I forgot to take pictures of. They were pretty yummy though. After that we headed to my new favorite spot in Jersey City. That would be the public library. I’m 100% serious when I say, I look forward to my library visit like it’s nobody’s business. I’ve lived here for almost 3 years yet only started taking advantage of it this year, and it’s rocking my world.

trust me, it's as cool as it looks

I was there to return last month’s book club selection We Need to Talk About Kevin. That was a heavy book. I picked up this month’s selection Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother.

I have to admit, I didn’t think I’d really enjoy this book. I remember all the press surrounding it when it came out, and thought it just seemed a bit over the top, but I started it last night, and I’m having a hard time putting it down. It’s a surprisingly light read with a pretty humorous tone.

I also picked up some lighter fare in the form of the first book in the Maze Runner series. Being a big fan of The Hunger Games, I figured this would be a logical next read. I’m actually really looking forward to starting it. Does that make me a nerd? I don’t care.

After the library, we headed to the city to do a little shopping and take a nice long walk. While there, we had sunshine, rain, winds and snow. It was the most schizophrenic weather I’ve seen in a while. I guess that’s February.

We came back sort of famished so I attempted a new recipe in the form of Chicken Vesuvio.

It was crazy easy to make with just a few ingredients (chicken, potatoes, peas and garlic) and came together pretty quickly. The verdict? We loved it. We polished off all four servings to round the night out very full.

Our laid back day and delicious dinner made for a ready-to-run type morning, so after a little breakfast and lounging around, we hopped in the car and drove up to Paramus to revisit last week’s destination run. We’ve been trying to do our long runs in new-to-us places in order to keep things interesting, and I’d say it’s working really well. We run the same route for all our week night runs, so getting to explore a new terrain makes our long runs kind of exciting. We pushed through 6 miles in an hour and eight minutes and hopped back in the car to head home.

By the time we got back to Jersey City, we were famished. Chris had the brilliant idea of swinging through Taqueria on our way home to pick up tacos. Nothing says “successful long run” like tacos.

Being that it was like 3, we figured it’d be pretty quick. Should have none better. Taqueria is ALWAYS bumping.

Taqueria is one of the best and most unique places in Jersey City. It’s a divey 80’s punk, rock and pop themed taco joint, and their food is slamming. It’s well worth any wait, but by the time we actually got our tacos, I was about ready to chew my own arm off. I’m quite glad I waited though because I like that arm. I also like the 3 fish tacos I devoured the second we got home.

After running my butt off and stuffing my face, I got to the nitty gritty of the weekend. Cleaned, grocery shopped and made dinner. Now it’s time to relax and enjoy the last hours of a very wonderful weekend. Have a good one!

Question: Any long run traditions you faithfully observe?

Leave a Reply

