A stitch in time

I’m a planner. I really enjoy the structure that comes with organization, and I always have. When I was in middle school and high school, I used to plan all of my outfits for the week on Sunday nights. I’d lay them all out on my bed, then hang them up in the order they were to be worn just to ensure I never wore the same color scheme twice in one week. Stuff like that matters, immensely in high school because everyone remembers exactly what you wore every single day. Riiiight. Thankfully, I had no time for anything when I got to college, and that habit fell by the wayside, but I still plan. I am the type of person who looks up the menu hours before going to any restaurant, so that I know what I’ll be having before I even sit down. I just like to know.

A habit that I’ve recently developed is devoted about an hour on Sundays to sketch out two of my most important plans for the week. These, of course are my workout schedule, and my weekly menu. If you were to say my life revolved around running and eating, well then you’d be correct.

I’ve planned workouts since I graduated from college and learned that if I don’t plan for them, they don’t happen. I never used to meal plan though. When I lived on my own, I’d just go to the grocery buy all of the things anything that looked good or fresh and try and eat it all in one form or another before it went bad. I lost a lot of food that way, and wasting food makes me immensely sad.

Since moving in with Chris, in an effort to keep our grocery budget low and our meals interesting, I’ve started meal planning. It was rocky at first, but I think I’m beginning to get the hang of it. Here’s how it goes. Throughout the week, as I browse the interwebs or read various blogs, I’ll copy and paste (or Pin!) links to interesting recipes I’ll come across. If I get hit with a random food craving, I’ll write that down too. On Sunday, I’ll look over everything I’ve amassed and try to make a balanced plan. Just like I dreaded wearing blue every day (something I am 100% comfortable with now) I try to avoid eating pasta 5 nights a week, although I’m sure Chris wouldn’t mind that one bit.

all pasta, all the time

Once I’ve got a varied and interesting weekly meal plan, I’ll put together a list of all the ingredients I need, check the fridge and pantry for stuff I already have, add other random odds and ends I need (always cereal, always milk) and that becomes my shopping list.

It’s great too because it makes grocery trips quick and simple and requires no thinking throughout the week about what needs to be defrosted/marinated/prepped or whatever for an upcoming dinner. I just check the schedule, and I’m good to go.

I’ll attempt to post meal plans (as well as grocery lists and recipe links) and workout schedules when I can, but some weeks are less interesting than others.

This week is unique in that we’re leaving for vacation at the end of the week. Whenever that is the case, I try to select meals that use the same basic ingredients and don’t leave a lot of leftovers because, as I said, I hate wasting food.

This week is unique on the workout front as well as I’ll be sort of short on time and also adding a 4th training run from now until the half marathon.

This Week’s Meals (all for 2 people)

Monday Stuffed Peppers with Ground Turkey and Brown Rice

Needed: 2 large green bell peppers, 1 onion, 1/2 lb lean ground turkey, 1 can crushed tomatoes, brown rice, and any veggies you’d like.

Tuesday Veggie Omelets!

Needed: 6-8 eggs, 1 green bell pepper, 1/2 onion, 1 head of broccoli

Wednesday Spaghetti and Turkey Meatballs

Needed: spaghetti, 1/2 pound ground turkey, 1/2 onion, breadcrumbs, 1 egg, marinara sauce

Thursday Out to Dinner

Friday Airport food :/

This Week’s Workout Schedule

Monday Rest Day 😀

Tuesday Easy 2 miles or spin bike

Wednesday 4 miles with 2 miles tempo

Thursday Easy 2 miles or spin bike

Friday Rest Day

Saturday Long Run

Sunday Active Rest Day

I’m a little bummed about this week’s workouts because my training partner in crime is laying off his foot this week to make sure it’s a-ok for our long run Saturday. I never used to run with anyone, but since I started running with Chris, I can’t imagine how I used to run with him before. After work outdoor runs are out since it’s dark by the time I get home, and I promised Chris I’d make a conscious effort to avoid activities that will result in me breaking a leg/being abducted, so that means it’s treadmill season for me. If I’m going to be running on the treadmill I might as well do it in the early morning before my brain realizes what I’m doing work, so that’s going to mean a few early morning wake up calls for me. I don’t mind though. Having my workout out of the way before the sun comes up is one of my favorite feelings.

So that’s my plan for the week. The weeks before vacations always seem eternal, but I don’t mind. I’ve got my eyes on the prize.

Questions:

Do you schedule your meals in advance or are you more laid back about your eats? 

Are you an early bird or a night owl when it comes to working out?

One thought on “A stitch in time

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Peppers | ibrokemyumbrella

Leave a Reply

