Happy Leap Day!

It’s raining over here, so you know what that means. A new umbrella! This is starting to get ridiculous. Maybe I could change the theme of the blog (this has a theme??) to “a girl sets out to buy a new umbrella every time it rains.” It would just be shots of cloudy skies and new umbrellas. Maybe I could make it a challenge to buy a different style every time. Um, never mind that. The craziest part is that Chris reminded me to bring my umbrella because it was going to rain 64 times, and each time I was all, “I’m an adult. I got this.”

one of the funniest blogs I’ve ever read

Well, you know what they say, 65th time’s the charm.

No matter though. It’s a Leap Day! Apparently according to Irish folklore a movie with Amy Adams, today is the day ladies can propose to their men.

I had this great idea for a joke where I was going to get down on one knee in front of Chris and say (super dramatically), “Chris, will you… go buy more milk?” It was a real knee slapper, I tell ya, but I didn’t realize it was February 29th until I got to work #calendarfail.

How do you propose to a guy anyway? You can’t really give him a diamond ring, so what do you give? An Xbox controller? The remote? A steak? All that sounds weird, so no thank you.

Yesterday afternoon I ran with a new running partner and I didn’t do any of the embarrassing things I thought I would do! In fact, it was a really fun run.  It was crazy fast, for me, and I thought I was going to pass out with all the talking and not breathing while going really fast, but it was fun. Running is  great way to get to know new people. The movement takes a lot of pressure off the interaction. I’d definitely do it again. We did 4 miles in 40:44, which is faster than the 11:30 miles I’ve been running in training, but it felt good to stretch the old legs out. What did not feel good was waking up at 5:30 in the morning to do it all over again. It’s a busy week with us leaving for vacation and all the planning that goes with that, so I’m trying to smush workouts in when I can. I actually don’t mind morning workouts; I usually prefer them, but back to back workouts like that is a bit rough. Today was fine though. I did 2 easy miles on the treadmill in just under 22 minutes then completed this workout.

The weights seem a little wimpy, but I’m telling you it hurt to wash my hair in the shower afterwards,  so I’m pretty sure those are no joke. The lower body portion is a killer too. You really start to feel it after 75 (total) squats. I like how it feels after I lift, but I don’t love actually doing it, so rather than split my workouts into arms and legs, I like to do full body workouts as often as possible to make sure I’m hitting all the muscles.

Later, I’ll check in on my goals for March and how I’m doing for my 2012 goals so far. Happy Leap Day!

Question:

Does anyone know a woman who has done the proposing? Was it on a leap day?

What’s one thing you always seem to forget despite your best efforts?

Leave a Reply

