Packed!

I’m so excited for my trip I can’t even stand it! The weather in Orlando is supposed to be close to 90!! and I’m going to see my grandparents who are possibly my two favorite people in the entire world. Time is ticking by so slowly, and I just want it to speed up. Really, I probably shouldn’t wish for such a thing because I have a lot more to get done before I leave. I don’t like coming back to a messy house, travelling stresses me out enough, so I’d like to clean the house, do the dishes and do all the laundry before I leave.  Ugh. I made a list of to-dos about 10 feet long, but for now let’s focus on what I did do.

I packed! I wish I could be one of those savvy travelers who can be packed and ready to go on a whim, but I am not. Packing stresses my brain out. It’s not so much that I’ll forget something as that I’m always afraid of over packing. I hate finishing a trip with things in my suitcase that I never wore. It gets my goat. So, I make lists. Lots of lists. I used to pack by item, but that always resulted in stuff not getting worn, so I pack based on outfits now. This was a relatively uncomplicated experience because it’s such a short trip (just three days) and I’ll be able to do laundry there-which is a real lifesaver. I was going to take pictures of it, but it was late, and I just wanted to get it done. I packed three comfy outfits of shorts or a skirt and a tee shirt for walking adventures during the day times. I packed two sundresses and flat sandals for the night times. I packed one workout outfit with sneakers for either running or biking while we’re down there. My accessories included a light blazer, a cardigan, a scarf and a belt. I also packed jammies and other necessities, so I think I should be good. Am I forgetting anything??

Another thing we did yesterday is vet (pun-intended) our new cat sitter! It’s funny, I got a cat because I wanted a sort of lower-maintenance pet. I knew I’d be travelling a lot for the next couple of years, and I didn’t want to deal with the ins and outs of leaving a dog behind. I thought, “I’ll get a cat. Cat’s are easy. They don’t even really like people, right?” Wrong. Miles is the neediest creature I have ever met. Unlike a dog, he can be left alone overnight. He doesn’t need to be taken out, and he’ll eat when he’s hungry. However, there will be hell to pay when you return. He will scream and yell at you for approximately twice as long as you were even gone for. This breaks Chris’ heart. I swear Miles has that boy wrapped around his teeny claws, so Chris decided to hire a cat sitter to come over and sit on Miles keep Miles company while we’re gone. It was very sweet. Stuff like that is why he is the favorite parent. Anyway, she came over last night and was very nice. She was not at all what I was expecting. I thought she’d be older or more cat-ladyish, but she was young and fun, and I’m pretty sure he has a crush on her already. I didn’t take a picture of her because I’m not that strange… yet.  Here’s a picture of Miles doing his best Snoopy impression though.

Bringing out the suitcase already was a bad idea though. Now he knows something is up. He’s been acting extra sad when we leave in the morning because he thinks it might be for good. Actually, let’s amend that. He only acts sad and lonesome and pathetic around Chris. He just gets mad at me. Don’t believe me? This is the face I came out to when I woke up to head to the gym at 5:30 this morning.

Just lurking under the table glaring at me. Now, I know some people really don’t like cats. I think those people only don’t like them because they’ve never met a sweet one. Miles is about as kind and affectionate as they come, so it’s hard for me to understand how people could dislike cats. However, I can understand how cats creep people out. Cats are creeps for sure. They’re super quiet and sneaky, and even if you can’t see them, they can see you. There’s not much you can do about it really. The only thing I’ve tried is staring back. I just stare right back at him. That way, he knows I know. But I have my own issues, so don’t listen to me.

I actually shouldn’t wish time to pass too quickly because I have a pretty fun night lined up for myself anyway. Chris and his dad and brother are going to see Van Halen in concert. This does not really appeal to me, but I’m happy he’s happy. Meanwhile, my dear friend from college, Anastasia who now lives in Chicago is in town visiting family. We only have one day where she’s here and I’m here, and that is today, so she’s meeting me in the city after work for some drinks and dinner at places TBD. I’m so excited to catch up with her that it feels like vacation is starting a little early.

Question:

How do your pets react when you leave for a few days?

If you don’t have pets are you more of a cat person or a dog person or neither?

Leave a Reply

