Girls night out

So, last night, I got to hang out with my friend Anastasia who’s currently living in Chicago and who I don’t get to see nearly enough. It was an absolute blast! She met me right after work for drinks at Trinity in the Financial District. It’s this super cool bar that’s actually in a converted bank vault. It’s nice too because it’s one of the less pretentious bars in the area. I sampled their house Shiraz and a Spanish wine I can’t remember the name of (blame the wine?) It was crazy dark in there, and flash would have been very obvious, so pictures weren’t a possibility. Instead, I’ll show you some from their site.

I’ve never tried the food there, so I can’t vouch for that, but the place is fun. They have a good drink selection, and they definitely have a cool factor.

After that, we headed over to Stone Street to decide what to do for dinner. We both thought Mexican sounded good, so we went to Mad Dog and Beans. I’ve been to a few of the places on Stone Street and had always wanted to try this one. I got the fish tacos, and Anastasia got the chicken tacos. Unfortunately, the food was meh. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good, and it was pricey for Mexican food, so I wouldn’t go there again. It was too dark for pictures in there too, but that ended up being a good thing because the couple behind us at the bar was making out hard core. It was especially weird because it was like 7:30. Who does that? Anyway, this is what the place looks like sans groping couples.

Hmm turns out even they can’t really get a good shot of the place, so I don’t stand a chance.

After that we parted ways because I had to wake up so very early this morning to get in to work by 7am. I so wish she didn’t have to go back so soon, but I’m glad I got to see her. She’s graduating with her master’s (do you capitalize that? does it need the apostrophe? obviously I’m not qualified for one) and if she lands a job in the city, there’s a possibility she’ll be moving back here, so I’m sending all my positive vibes that way. Fingers crossed?

Anybody know of any other places (outside of Stone Street) in the FiDi to check out?

Leave a Reply

