Upcoming Race Schedule

We’re enjoying all the glory of the Sunshine State right now, and I’ll have a full post when I get back, but for now, here’s my Spring 2012 race schedule!

 

I ran all throughout high school, but never thought to enter a race. I thought races were only for people who were really fast and actually had a chance at winning them. In fact, I didn’t run my first race until I was a sophomore in college. It was a charity run for my sorority’s chapter leader’s husband (try and follow that one), so we all signed up to support her. I definitely didn’t win the race, but I did have an awesome time, and I’ve been racing ever since. Racing is great for people of all running levels. As a beginner, it gives you a goal to work towards, a timeline for training and motivation to get out there. For someone a little more advanced running is like a reward for all the handwork of training, plus it gives you an opportunity to set and achieve speed or distance goals. I’ve really grown to love racing, and if I had unlimited funds and titanium legs, I’d sign up for one every weekend. Alas, I have human legs and a government employee budget, so I sign up for a select few. Due to injuries and weather I haven’t raced since October, and I’m itching to get back out there. I just signed up for a bunch too!

April 15 (my 25th birthday!) I’m running the Newark Cherry Blossom 10k. I’ve done this race two years in a row. It’s a really small, local 10k and it’s an absolute blast. The park is full of cherry blossoms in bloom and the course is beautiful. I can’t wait to start 25 off with a bang!

April 22 Chris and I are running the Rutgers Unite Half Marathon. It’s Chris’ first and I’m so excited for him!! This should be a really cool one for us too because we both went to Rutgers, but we never (just once but it’s a long story) met there, so it’ll be fun to explore the old stomping grounds together.

May 6 is the 5 Boro Bike Tour. It’s Chris’ 2nd and my 1st. It’s actually only my second bike tour ever, but I’m really excited. Bike tours and road races are totally different, but both really fun. Bike tours are usually more chill than road races. There’s time for snacks and lots of pictures, which I’m really excited about because Chris said you see some amazing view from this route. It’s been a while since I’ve been on my bike, so it’ll need to be tuned up, as will I, but I’m hoping the warmer temperatures come soon, so I can get back in shape!

 

 

There’s a few more on the horizon I’m getting excited about, but these are enough to carry me through the spring, and I cannot wait! If you’re doing any of these too, let me know!!

Leave a Reply

