Congee

There was a radical change to the lunch plans over here. It turns out there is an office birthday today. There was no cake, but there was vegetable congee. Let me back up. We’re a small office, so when it’s someone’s birthday we take them out to lunch at the place of their choosing, and today’s birthday princess chose Congee Village in Chinatown.

Like I said, I’m not a vegetarian, but I do tend to get squeamish around a lot of meat (TWSS). I’ve been to a few places in Chinatown that proudly display whole chickens and sometimes other animals hanging in the windows, and it’s a little too much for me, so I was a bit scared going into this. I was totally wrong though. This place is actually really cute, and there were no dead animals on display.

Chinese restaurants are actually kind of a haven for vegetarians and those trying to keep gluten free. They often offer a wide variety of vegetables and, of course, rice. You do have to be careful of the sauces though if you’re keeping gluten free as many contain soy sauce, which contains gluten. I headed immediately to the vegetable section of the menu to pick my entree.

There were a few things that looked delicious, but I decided on the Steamed Bok Choy.

We also got some congee for the table. I tried some of the vegetable congee, but didn’t have a lot as I’m not sure of it’s gluten-status. It was yummy though. I wish I knew if it’s gfree or not because I might eat more.

I didn’t take this picture because I didn’t want to freak my coworkers out, but this is what it looked like.

Everything was good and filling, and I’m glad I didn’t skip it even though it was a little out of my comfort zone. This was sort of a random post, but I figured I had to be honest on WIAW. As for the lunch I packed for today, I think that’ll be tomorrow’s lunch.

Leave a Reply

