Florida

In the beginning, our Florida trip was off to a great start. Having gotten to work early, I was able to leave by 3, and I was back in Jersey City by 3:30. Our cab showed up at 4 on the dot, and we made it to Newark with no traffic by 4:30.

we’re excited but cold. get us to florida!

By the time we made it through security we had about an hour to waste before our 6 pm flight. It was perfect.

look at us airport pros

That’s how I should have known things would soon go awry. We soon found out that our plane was delayed coming into Newark, so we’d be facing a 1.5 hour delay. We were already getting into Orlando late when we thought we’d be there by 9, but now we were looking at 10:30.

we hate air travel (that’s what I’m saying, chris is rocking blue steel)

It didn’t help that we were in Newark’s smallest and worst terminal. Terminal A has like a candy store and a newsstand. It’s super tiny with one bathroom, and if it’s the least bit crowded, you feel it. Today was very crowded.

We were tired and grouchy, but we made it to Orlando without event by 10:30. Unfortunately, we still had an hour to go before we got to my grandparent’s house. My wonderful grandparents waited up for us even though we didn’t arrive until after midnight. My grandpa (who’s usually asleep by 10, like yours truly) retired to bed pretty soon after our hellos, but we stayed up chatting with grandma until after 1 am. At that point neither of us could keep our eyes open so we hit the sack.

We woke up the next day feeling much more refreshed and were treated to a breakfast of champions.

Honey Nut Chex with soy milk

Eggs and Toast

and freshly squeezed Florida Orange Juice

Believe me when I tell you, there’s nothing better in the world.

After breakfast and getting ourselves all dolled up, my grandparents took us out on a tour of their town.

We were super psyched because they had gotten us our own golf car for the weekend, and if that doesn’t sound like the most awesome thing ever to you, you’ve never driven a golf car. Even though we’re old enough to drive real cars on real roads, driving a golf car makes you feel like a little kid getting away with something awesome.

I drove the first leg, but Chris was itching to get behind the wheel, so we switched off. Once he was in control, it was pedal to the medal the rest of the tour. That boy can drive!

We both forgot our sunglasses because we haven’t seen real sun in NJ in months, so the first stop on the tour was Walgreens to buy some cheap ones for the rest of the trip. We got matching aviators because we are goobers.

I definitely had more fun when Chris was behind the wheel, but the good part about me driving was that he was able to take some amazing pictures.

I love Spanish moss. For me, it is the most quintessential southern thing there is. It reminds me of beach vacations, warm, sunny southern days, and family. I just love it.

We had an absolute blast down there, and it wasn’t just the scenery. The people were pretty amazing too.

 

I’m glad we were able to capture Chris in some of these shots as he was pretty busy doing the photographing most of the time.

At one point, while we were out eating, there was a live singer performing. As she began to sing “At Last” my grandpa got up and asked my grandma to dance.

They met in high school and are celebrating their 53rd wedding anniversary this year. They are the dream.

We did a lot. We ate a lot. We ran 3 miles in the beautiful sunshine and biked another 15 on borrowed bikes. We read and relaxed and spent time with family. It was everything I could ask for from a vacation. Plus, it was comforting to know that our Miles Monster was being taken care of while we were gone. Chris got him a cat sitter to check in on him, and she was sweet enough to text us pictures of how he was doing.

I don’t know about you, but that looks like a pretty happy cat to me.

When the time came to leave, we were definitely sad to go, but happy to get home to Miles and our life here. I’m already counting the days until I get to see them again.

6 thoughts on “Florida

  1. Pingback: December Goals/2012 Wrap Up « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. I seldom leave comments, however i did some searching
    and wound up here Florida « I Broke my Umbrella. And
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like some of these responses come across like coming
    from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at
    additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of all of all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: this weekend and a look ahead | i broke my umbrella

  4. Pingback: The Sunshine State | i broke my umbrella

  5. Pingback: Long Branch Half Training Week 7 | i broke my umbrella

  6. Assurez-Vous cual vos mains sont prot¨¦g¨¦es du soleil. The sosony ericssonil canisters ‘vrr rrtre dommageab. m. The best. Peau sur votre several de l’effect des m¨ºme mani¨¨re qu’avec somebody autres votre body of troops. Une majorit¨¦ environnant l’effect des personnes ne each souviens jamais will be l’effect desttre cr¨¨ soire sur mains. Ne soyez pas l’un d’eux! Vous souha meaningfulitez obtduranteir not southern carolina Longchmps Ps Cher qui d¨¦j¨¤ SPF construit elle. Ceci ze ‘vrrle rrtre particuli¨¨rement reliable parce cual vos mains pascertainnt caloric signifiant levels au soleil n’importe lle autre partie votre body of troops. Vous voulez l’effect des garder sain et prot¨¦g¨¦! Vous avez toutes sortes plastic bottles choses cual vous cuandovez penser the particular vous vouz choir avec succ¨¨s droit Sac Longchamps Pas Cher. Malgr¨¦ quoi il ressemble entire cual vous faites des emplettes, Chaque Sac Longchamps Pas Cher sony ericsson ‘vrrle rrtre diff¨¦rente. Il s’av’e rrtre arch d’¨ºtre durante mesure environnant l’effect des choisir each meiltopur quand vous ¨ºtes commcer ¨¤ magasiner. Ce ne sont cual please petites choses qui peuvent vous air ¨¤ affiner votre bite choix. Au moins never peu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

