a busy, lazy day

Yesterday was one of those days that started as a lazy day and quickly morphed into a very busy one. Chris and I both said to each other, “Let’s have a relaxing day. That sounds great.” We both then went down the list of things we wanted to do. I said library and pet smart, he said post office. Perfect, we thought, what an easy day. That’s when things always start to snowball though and we ended up sitting still for a total of an hour yesterday between 8am and 1am this morning.

First, we hit the library. I got one of the two books I was looking for and am waiting on the other. Then we walked over to the Jersey City Main Post Office. I’d never been there before, and I was surprised to see what a pretty, old building it was.

We got our mail sent off then hopped in the car to head to Pet Smart. Traffic was monstrous yesterday, so by the time we got there, we were both starving for lunch. We decided to make a detour before shopping. Can you guess where we went?

Chipotle! I got a veggie burrito bowl with brown rice, guacamole, fajita veggies and lots of lettuce. I also got the hottest sauce they have. I thought it was mild, roasted tomatoes. It was not. Honestly though, it wasn’t that hot. I’ve tasted hotter, Chipotle. Still, it was delicious.

After feeding our faces, we headed to PetSmart. There were so many adorable dogs there. It was heaven. Earlier in the day, we’d made a decision to get our grocery shopping done after PetSmart because it’s right next to Walmart. Walmart is simultaneously me favorite and least favorite place to grocery shop. It’s hands down the best bet for low priced organic and gluten free products (don’t believe me? check out the specialty section of a Super Walmart). It’s also an absolute zoo. There are never less than 9,200 people in the store. Ever. We gritted our teeth and bared it, and it was no picnic, but it wasn’t so bad. We had a list which corresponds to next week’s meal plan, which I’ll post tomorrow, and that always helps get us in and out quickly.

By the time we got home, it was 5! Where does the time go? We verged out for about an hour than made a quick dinner. We had a friend’s birthday party that night, and there was going to be finger foods, but I wanted something healthy in my belly before we left, so I made us pasta with a turkey marinara sauce and tons of veggies. It hit the spot and kept me from eating too many unhealthy snacks at the party. Like these

I made and brought the best gluten free brownies I’ve tried so far. They’re Arrowhead Mills brand, and I got them at Walmart! Score! I love brownies, but I hate cutting them. As you can see, these came out a hot mess, but no one seemed to mind.

The party was fun. I got to see some people I don’t see very often. I also got to see a pretty sweet jam session

Chris picked up our friend’s new guitar (and a pair of sunglasses with attached mustache for some reason) and rocked out. I cheered because I’m a groupie like that.

We got back kind of late, but I actually slept in a bit today. Miles must read the blog because for the first time in a looooong time, he let me sleep until 9.

For today, we’ve got an 8 miler on the schedule. Hopefully, last night’s fun doesn’t come back to haunt us out there. It’s our longest run of the training plan so far and Chris’ longest run ever, so we’re a little nervous but excited. After the run, I plan on throwing all the ingredients for BBQ chicken sandwiches in the crockpot and both they and I will sit for 6-8 hours on low. Sounds like just the Sunday I need.

UPDATE- Chris just walked out of the bedroom and reminded me of the time change. Turns out I did not sleep in. I actually lost an hour. Whomp. Whomp.

Leave a Reply

