Weekly Prep

Wow, so this daylight savings time thing really threw my for a loop yesterday. I couldn’t believe the time every time I looked at the clock because it was still so light out.

My Sunday was perfect. We took our dear time getting ready in the morning, and didn’t end up heading out for our long run until after noon. We stayed local this time running in Jersey City and Hoboken. We’ve done our previous log runs in new to us locations, so this was a real treat. I got to show Chris the route I ran all the time last summer, and it made my heart so happy to know that I now having a training partner! Don’t get me wrong, I can definitely appreciate the peace and quiet of a solo run, but running with Chris is some of my favorite time we spend together. It’s always funny to hear the things that pop into someone’s head after 6 miles, and we end up having really good conversations.

This run was a big one because it was officially the longest Chris has done. I remembered a,l those times I’d come back from runs, and he’d say, “8 miles is crazy! I could never do 8 miles!” Well, he did, and I was so proud of him. It’s been a hard month for him with his foot acting up, and him having to miss a few runs, but he came back like a champ. I think he was really impressed too. He did something he never thought he could do, and that feeling is awesome.

After our run, we heated up leftovers from last night’s dinner and cleaned the whole house. After almost two hours of cleaning, we cleaned ourselves up and enjoyed some green smoothies

This guy had protein powder, spinach, a frozen banana V8 Fusion and strawberries. They make for ugly but tasty greenish monsters.

Science (art?) lesson:

Colors that are directly opposite each other on the color wheel, make brown. That means purple and yellow, blue and orange and of course red (strawberries) and green (spinach) make a murky brown.

Dinner was delicious and super easy crockpot BBQ chicken and mashed sweet potatoes. I love this dish. Put the chicken and BBQ sauce in the crockpot in the morning. 6 hours later

take the chicken out and

shred it up! Then it’s back in the pot for another hour, and it’s ready to go!

Served on yummy buns with these babies

It totally hit the spot.

We planned and shopped for our eats for the week at Walmart on Saturday

Eats:

Monday- Dijon Chicken and Green Beans with Brown Rice – I was supposed to make this last week, but we opted for pizza instead.

Tuesday- Pasta Primavera

  • Bring 4 cups of chicken stock to a boil
  • Add 1/2 box pasta of choice (gfree for me, whole wheat for Chris)
  • Cook according to package directions
  • While this is cooking, sautee 1/2 bag shredded carrots, 1 sliced red pepper and 1 head broccoli florets in 1 tbsp olive oil until tender
  • When there are 3 minutes left for the pasta to cook, add 1/2 cup frozen peas, 1 chopped zucchini and 1 chopped squash.
  • Combine sauteed veggies with pasta, top with cheese if desired, and serve!

Wednesday- Olive Risotto– this is such an easy and tasty recipe!

Thursday- Tilapia Puttanesca– I follow Martha’s recipe but replace halibut with the much more affordable tilapia. I serve these over sautéed spinach.

Friday- Stuffed Peppers

Saturday & Sunday- TBD

And our workouts this week:

Monday- rest day!

Tuesday- 2 easy miles

Wednesday- 4 miles with 2 tempo miles

Thursday- 8 mile long run

Friday- rest day!

Saturday- Spring Thaw 5k

Sunday- spinning and weights

I so wish you could leave work an hour early the week of Daylight Savings. Wouldn’t that be sweet?

Leave a Reply

