What I Ate Wednesday- 3/14

Happy Hump Day! I don’t officially get excited on Wednesdays until after lunch because that’s when we’re officially half way through the week, but this warm weather has got me feeling good, so I guess I’ll get excited now. Yay Wednesday!!

Yesterday I woke up feeling good. I got to the gym by 6 am and did 20 minutes on the elliptical followed by my go to Total Body Toning.

Even though we’re running a lot, I really want to keep up with my toning. Training for the last half marathon made me really, well, doughy. I can’t describe it any other way. I was as fit as I’ve ever been, but I got soft. Not this time half marathon. I’m trying to stick to a schedule that includes at least two strength sessions a week. As you can see, it’s nothing grueling, but it keeps my muscles from getting all noodley. It’s a word. Trust me.

Anyway later that afternoon I got hit with a whomping headache. Seriously, it came on in a flash and did me dirty. I came home from work and took a nap. That is something I never do. I woke up feeling worse (hence why I don’t take naps) and seriously considered skipping our four mile run with 2 mile repeats at a speedy pace. Running with a headache is the worst for me. Every step feels like lightning in my brain. I even tried to talk Chris out of it by tempting him with his most favorite thing, other than me of course ;), a bike ride. He held strong though because he’s a superstar half marathon trainee, so we went on our run, and you know what? I came back feeling loads better. My head did hurt for the first mile, but, just like that, it went away. Proof that even when it’s really hard to drag yourself out the door, you’re usually glad you did.

Anyway, enough running love. Onto the eats!

My morning started with a lot of this

at the gym.

When I came back to the apartment, it was breakfast time. I’ve been out of oatmeal for almost two weeks (!!) and I was getting seriously sick of cereal. Don’t get me wrong, I love cereal, but I always find myself hungry an hour after I eat it, so I whipped up one of these babies instead

a green monster with 2 cups of spinach, 1 scoop vegan protein powder, 1 frozen banana and about 1.5 cups soy milk. It was a little bland, so I stirred in about a teaspoon of honey, which really hit the spot. It was good, but I still miss my oats. Never fear though! I picked these up on my way home from work yesterday

They’re not certified gluten free, but the interwebs tells me they’re 99% sure they don’t have gluten, so I think I’ll be ok.

That smoothie did a pretty good job of holding me over until lunch which was

a salad with romaine lettuce, a giant green apple, 2 scoops of hummus and edamame. Very green morning, huh?

I had an afternoon snack of almonds and craisins, my current snack obsession

We came back from our run hungry! And luckily dinner came together pretty quickly.

Lemon dijon chicken with brown rice and steamed garlic green beans. It looks like a small portion of chicken, but really, it’s just a giant portion of beans. And I ate all of them.

The chicken was easy peasey. You just cut 1 chicken breast into 2 inch cubes. You season them with a little salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder and sear them in a non-stick sprayed pan over medium heat until they’re brown on the outsides. Then you lower the heat and add the juice of 1 lemon and 1.5 tablespoons of dijon mustard. Stir in up, cook for another 5 minutes and serve. Yum and dairy and gluten free! As for the beans, they were steamed then tossed in a teaspoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of garlic. I then squeezed the juice of another lemon over them, and they were fresh and delicious.

Dessert was (not pictured because I nommed it all instantly) a mug of gluten free granola and soy milk.

I hope your Wednesday is fabulous and your weekend comes quickly!

Question: Do you have any breakfast/lunch/dinner go-tos that you feel a little lost without?

Mine is definitely oats with a banana and peanut butter. My mornings just haven’t been the same!

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday- 3/14

  1. I did strength training for the first month of my half marathon training, I was doing Jamie Eason’s LiveFit trainer,, and it was awesome. but I just ran out of time at the gym. The workouts got longer and so did my runs…. But I do feel the same way, I feel doughy. ha

    Reply
  2. Breakfast- I scramble 4 eggs every morning and split it with my hubby. Then eat oatmeal when I get to work. Everything else can be what it is, so long as I have that to start my day. Otherwise all hope is lost 🙂
    I can’t believe you went running with a headache, you are hardcore!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

