First race of the year run and done!

This morning was my first race of 2012. I couldn’t believe that at first, but it’s true. We’re lucky that it’s been such a nice winter, but it’s usually not, so I didn’t schedule any races in January or February. I’ve been running regularly, but it felt good to shake the dust off my running legs.

I ran the Spring Thaw 5k. Oh, what’s that? You’ve never heard of it? That’s weird. Maybe that’s because it’s the one of the smallest, most local races I’ve ever done. I placed second in my age group! Out of two haha. Go me! Actually, I’m really happy with how I did, but first things first.

Despite the lack of sleep, it was a perfect day for a race. The temperature rose over night, so there was some lingering fog over the city, but it was mostly cleared by the time I arrived at the park.

I decided to run to the park from my house, as I posted this morning, thinking it was a mile. Um. It was 1.75 miles. That’s sort of a difference. Of course, I had to run home too, so my 5k turned into a 6.5 mile run. It wasn’t on the schedule, but I was glad I got to enjoy one of the best days we’ve had so far this winter.

There weren’t many people there. I think only about 80 people ran the race, so registration was quick and easy.

Because I had woken up so early, I ate breakfast around 7. The race was scheduled for 9:30, so I didn’t want to eat any more before that, but when I got to the park, all I could think about was getting home to eat breakfast #2.

The 9:30 start turned into a 10 am start but only after a children’s mile run. I was itching to go and getting hungry! When they finally let us go, I ran the first mile way too quickly. Chalk it up to not racing in a while, but I was doing like a 7:30 mile. That is not my pace. I adjusted quickly and decided to try and stay within the broad window of 8-9 minute miles. It was tough! I finished in 26:20, and I felt it! I’m proud of that time though. We’ve been running our training runs between 10 and 11 minute miles, so this felt like a perfect 5k pace.

This was a fast group too. My little summary slip that I printed out said I was 66 out of 72. Now, I know a 26:20 is not lightening pace or anything like that, but that means the vast majority of racers held a pace faster than 8:30 per mile. That’s pretty speedy! Like I said, I placed 2nd in my age group (hah!), so technically I had a medal coming my way, but I was starving, so I skipped out.

I came home and quickly whipped up the eggs and pancakes I had been dreaming about.

They totally hit the spot. After feeding my belly and showering, my early morning caught up with me, and I zonked out on the couch for about half an hour.

I woke up feeling a little better but still sort of drained, so I went for a walk in hopes the sunshine would brighten me up, and it did! Let me tell you, spring has sprung in Jersey City.

Look at those flowers!

Feeling reinvigorated, I decided to make a little trip I’ve been planning for a while.

Can you guess where I went?

All of the closest Trader Joe’s to me are in the city which is not really convenient when you have to haul groceries across state lines using public transportation, so I decided to venture to the closest Jersey Joe’s in Edgewater. Google maps said it was only 20 minutes away, which would be fine, but when you’re driving in North Jersey, it’s best to tack an additional 20-30 minutes onto anything Google tells you. I timed it, and I was right. All told, it was about 45 minutes round trip. It’s a frustrating stop and go drive too. It sort of bummed me out because I love TJ’s and was hoping I could make it my regular shopping stop, but it’s just not realistic. I guess I’ll have to save it for a once and a while treat, which is probably good because if I could easily get to and from the Joe, I’d be broke and chubby. Not a good look for me.

Don’t worry though. I stocked up on all the essentials.

I bought other stuff too, but that was definitely the best find of the journey. I may or may not have already finished the bag. You’ll never know! Okay. I didn’t, but I almost did and I probably will before the weekend is over.

When I finished unloading my groceries, I collapsed on the couch and decided that was enough for one day. I had had spent enough time vertical and committed to a horizontal orientation for the remainder of the day. Plus, I was really starting to miss Chris and Miles. Saturday adventures are fun, but there’s nothing like home sweet home.

Leave a Reply

