Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

20120317-060707.jpg

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Today’s the day everyone is a little Irish, right? Well, I hope you all have the luck of the Irish with you today.

Yesterday was a rough day at work. It was another in a long series of crummy days, and it’s been wearing me down. Hopefully, it’s nothing permanent, but for now, the mood is not good. Chris knows this, so when he walked in the door from work yesterday, he had these in his hand

20120317-061443.jpg

20120317-062108.jpg

Maybe it was the combined emotions of the whole week, or maybe it was the fact that I’ve never in my life received flowers “just because” but I instantly burst into tears when I saw him. Probably not the reaction he was hoping for, but I quickly clarified that they were happy tears. He got them just because he thought “they might brighten my week.” How sweet is that? I’m a lucky gal.

Also, see that sneaky face in the second picture? Well, I’d love to display my flowers proudly, but I have to hide them in the bedroom or Miles will eat them. All of them. That’s what he does.

Later, our friend came over, and we all caught up and had a good time. We ate, we drank a few glasses of wine, and I baked cookies! It was sort of on a whim and with the ingredients I had on hand, so they weren’t gluten free, which meant (luckily) I couldn’t enjoy more than one. They were whole wheat with dark chocolate chips, so that makes them healthy right?

20120317-062512.jpg

I thought so. They were pretty basic, but if you’re wondering, I followed this recipe.

I was psyched to discover that my race this morning doesn’t start until 9:30, so I was hoping to sleep in. Alas, my circadian rhythms got the best of me, and I found myself awake with 3 hours to kill. Luckily for me, I found every season of Greek on Netflix! Did anyone watch that show? It was on ABC Family. It came out when I was in college, in Greek life, and, like all TV, it’s not much like the real thing, but it was fun to watch, and I’m hoping it still is.

I’m planning to run to and from the 5k, which adds about another mile each way, and I have a feeling that once I get back from those 5 miles, my 6:30 wakeup will catch up with me, and I’ll crash pretty hard. It’s been a while since I’ve had time to really nap, so I’m kind of looking forward to it.

As for the rest of the day, I’m hoping to get some grocery shopping done and stop by the library (I’m ripping through the Maze Runner trilogy), you know, a CRAZY day. Honestly, an easy day is just what I need. I guess I got some of that luck after all 🙂

One thought on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. Pingback: WIAW- March 21 « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

