Motivation from all sources

Running is not always easy for me. There are plenty of days that I have to drag my butt out the door with all the old motivational mind tricks like, “Oh I’ll just do 10 minutes; then I can quit” which is a great one because you hardly ever quit once you’ve started. On the other hand, there are times when I dream about running all day. Yesterday was the latter. I had originally planned a morning run, but once I found out my afternoon plans were cancelled, I quickly rescheduled to an evening run. An extra hour of sleep in the dark mornings of early spring AND a run in the sunshine? I  didn’t have to think too long about that one.

I came home ready for my run but also kind of starving. When I have a weekend where I eat my face off (like this past one) I find myself extra hungry on Mondays as I try and force my body back into a more regular eating schedule. I could’ve run hungry, but I don’t really like that, so I tried half of a new Clif Bar I picked up as a little snack fuel.

It was called Carrot Cake, and it almost looked the part, but it tasted like a weird blend between an oatmeal cookie and orange Skittles. I think it was the cranberries that made it just a little too tart. It wasn’t a winner, but it did give me the boost I needed to take on my run.

I had 4 on the schedule today, but I figured if I wanted to hit the gym afterwards, I should probably just do 3. I did a different route than my normal one, which was a nice change of pace. I always run better when there are people around (because I’m a show off) and there were tons of people out yesterday, so it ended up being a really good run.

I came back and hit the gym for about 25 minutes to do some lifting so I don’t turn into a noodle during half marathon training. I did this workout again.

While at the gym, someone had turned on Mad Money you know that show where this guy

source

yells at you about which stocks to pick. It was actually really good gym motivation. All the yelling got me hyped up like when Jillian Michaels used to go bananas on all the contestants on the Biggest Loser. I learned some stuff too. Like, did you know that Colgate Palmolive is planning to introduce a new dish soap that will disinfect sponges as it cleans dishes to keep your sponges from smelling? That’s pretty brilliant. I would buy that for sure.

Anyway, after the gym, I came home and made some dinner. Nothing fancy just a grilled cheese sammich (on gfree bread!) with some garlic roasted broccoli

and tomato soup

I got the soup at Trader Joe’s, and it was meh. I like my tomato soup tangy and tomatoey. This was a bit too creamy for my taste. The broccoli hit the spot though, and I went back for seconds.

After dinner I felt like a lost soul. There is a gaping whole in my life Monday nights, and it’s in the shape of Ben.

source

Woof. Actually, I don’t miss that face at all, but I do miss my Monday night Bachelor ritual. I almost didn’t know what to do with myself. Almost. Enter Downton Abbey. I won’t do a post about it because the blogosphere has been blowing up about this show, and I’m a little late to the party. Cely has been doing more funny posts about this show than I ever could. I tried to resist, but I really could not. It’s dramatic and British, and I love every minute of it. I’m tearing through season two. Like I said, I won’t say much, but for those who watch, I just finished the William and Daisy storyline, and I cried. It’s no Ben and Courtney, but it’s pretty fantastic.

***

Just like watching Mad Money pumped me up for my gym workout, there are all kinds of motivation out there. Runner’s World has a great article about motivation through finding your bliss that’s worth checking out.

2 thoughts on “Motivation from all sources

  1. Pingback: Running with Gratitude « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: WIAW- March 21 « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

