The Bright Side

Good morning! This fog that’s blanketing the Northeast is pretty wild, huh?

It’s not a great picture because it’s from my office window, but you can faintly see a crane to the left of that black building. I feel so bad for the people working on the top of the tower this morning. They must not be able to see anything! I’m hoping this fog burns off soon because right now feels like we’re living in a Stephen King novel, and it’s just a little too eerie for my liking.

Chris got back from Vegas yesterday afternoon. He brought back souvenirs including this t-shirt from a national park in Arizona that they visited called Meteor Crater

A place windier than Jersey City? Unpossible.

All the souvenirs are great, but this gigantic bag of M&M’s takes the cake

The boys went to M&M World, and Chris knows the way to my heart is dark chocolate, so he brought me quite a lot back. He’s a good man. This will probably last me at least a couple days 😉

After reuniting with him, I headed out to my monthly book club at a place right in my neighborhood called The Brightside.  I didn’t take pictures because I was with a lot of people I’d never met before, but this place was really cute.

(from the website)

It was big and sort of had a generic bar feel, but the owner and management were so friendly and personable! The owner kept coming over and sitting and joking with all us girls but not at all in an annoying way.

That’s the owner; he was a character.

The food was good, but not great, but I’m hoping that since it’s a new place, it gets better. I had a veggie burger (no bun) with melted mozzarella and roasted red peppers and fries. The burger seemed to be the generic frozen kind and was a little overcooked. The fries were good, thick and crispy and tasted house-cut.  I’ll probably go back because I like to support local businesses, and I’m hoping they can get up to speed with the food because it really is a good time.

We didn’t talk much about our book club selection, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother (you can read my review of this controversial book here), but it was nice to just sit and talk with the girls. One of the ladies I met is a flight attendant, and I spent most of the evening picking her brain about what her job and life are like. She’s been with her airline for 4 years and said she still only has 10 days off a month! Any of the other days, the airline can call her and tell her to be at the airport in 2 hours! Isn’t that crazy? I couldn’t handle that lifestyle for a lot of reasons (mostly, I’m not a big fan of flying), but she really loved her job, so I guess it was good fit.

I’m restless today because we’re seeing The Black Keys at the Garden tonight, and I’m so excited! I’ll be listening to their albums all day today. I can’t wait!

What was the last great book you read? The last great concert you went to? 

Leave a Reply

