Top Ten Tuesday: Advertising Slogans

Hi! Last night I came home from my doctor’s appointment later than I expected, so Chris and I headed out for a very dark, very cold, very windy 2 miles. I was glad that was all we had on the schedule yesterday because we had to stop more than once just to brace ourselves against the wind. It was no joke.

After our run we enjoyed a feast of leftovers alongside some steamed green beans with garlic.

Even though the leftovers provided a full meal for both of us, it barely looks like we made a dent. Gotta love grandma’s house.

I set my alarm last night for 5:30 with great intentions of squeezing another workout in this week. I was hoping to spin or do some toning, but when the alarm went off, I knew it wasn’t happening. Sometimes sleep really is the best thing, and today it definitely was.

I fell into a Wikipedia black hole the other day. You know how it goes. You set out to look up one teeny tiny little thing (what is the reason Steve Prefontaine died at such a young age?- I’m a runner and I never knew!).  You find it out (tragic car accident) but along the way you see several more interesting things you’d like to know more about (Bill Bowerman and the founding of Nike), so you click on those too. You can stop whenever you want. Right? Wrong. Next thing I knew I was reading all about the history of Nike, the iconic Swoosh symbol and the famous “Just Do It” slogan.

Luckily for me, I got my learn on. Luckily for you, I found a top ten list to share.

Ad Age put together a list of the top 10 slogans of the 20th century. Would you like to know what they were?

  1. Diamond are forever. Debeers- I was kind of surprised that this took first because while I know the slogan, I don’t think I could have told you the company.
  2. Just do it. Nike- This is a gimme. Universal and kind of the definition of an iconic slogan.
  3. The pause that refreshes. Coca Cola- I have never, ever heard this in my life, but, then again, I missed the first 87 years of the 20th century.
  4. Tastes great, less filling. Miller Lite- again, not sure I would’ve been able to tell you the company on this one.
  5. We try harder. Avis- Hmmm I know it, but I wouldn’t have expected it here.
  6. Good to the last drop. Maxwell House- I know this one!
  7. Breakfast of Champions. Wheaties- You better eat ’em!
  8. Does she… or doesn’t she? Clairol- I suppose this references their hair dyes, but I’ve never heard of it.
  9. When it rains it pours. Morton Salt- You don’t really see ads for salt anymore. I feel like Morton’s is so ubiquitous that anyone who buys brand name salt is already buying it. Can you even name another salt company? Still, I guess the slogan explains the little girl with the umbrella.
  10. Where’s the beef? Wendy’s- This one sounds pretty good to me.

Some surprising absences for me where Think differently. Apple; Got Milk? Um milk producers?; Melts in your mouth, not in your hand. M&M’s; They’re grrrreat! Frosted Flakes; Gimme a break. Kit Kat; Don’t leave home without it. American Express; The best part of waking up; Folgers; and It keeps going and going. Energizer.

Still, it’s a good list, and I guess it’s hard for me to recall slogans older than my lifetime. Any on there surprise you? Any you think they missed??

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Advertising Slogans

  1. I actually wanted to write a small message in order to express gratitude to you for all the fabulous advice you are posting at this website. My considerable internet search has at the end been paid with awesome information to talk about with my family. I would claim that many of us visitors actually are undoubtedly lucky to live in a magnificent website with many marvellous people with beneficial basics. I feel somewhat fortunate to have used the site and look forward to some more pleasurable moments reading here. Thanks again for a lot of things.

    Reply
  2. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to
    writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Kudos!

    Reply
  3. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion
    boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feedback from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

