Big Decisions

My favorite day of the work week is back! I love me some Thursdays.

I woke up from the weirdest dream this morning. I dreamt I was  bridesmaid in Beyonce and Jay-Z’s wedding. No idea where that one came from.

Yesterday was a whirlwind day. First off, I paid off my car! I’m a car owner. I began financing my car as a very broke college student back in 2008, and I made a lump sum payment to become it’s official owner yesterday. Unfortunately, it’s short lived. I’m actually transferring the title on the car to a family member who needs it more than I do right now. It’s sort of sad because this is the first big thing that I’ve ever owned, and it was not easy making those payments when I was in college. In the end though, I’m thankful that I’m in a position to help, and a car is such a small thing in the big family picture.

I have to say that none of this would be possible if Chris weren’t the person he is. While I luckily don’t need a car for work, Jersey City is not an area where you can easily get around without a car. When Chris found out that I was thinking of giving my car away, he never even hesitated in assuming we’d share his. I didn’t have to ask because in his mind it wasn’t even a question. He even offered to make the drive with me when we drop it off. He’s a kind soul that man, and I love him.

So yesterday I felt elated to pay off my car, sad and scared to give up my car, confident in my decision and thankful that I am with the man I’m with, all in the same few hours (see what I mean about whirlwind?). After all that quieted down, Chris and I met our friends for dinner in the village. We went to a place called Mercadito. These friends always pick the best restaurants, so I had no doubt I was in for some good eats.

We started with some chips and guacamole. The chips to guac ratio was way off though and we ended up with uneaten guacamole. The horror!

After that I got the mahi mahi tacos and Chris got the chicken mole tacos all on soft corn tortillas. My tacos were fried, so they sat a little heavy in my stomach, but all the food was good.

The best part though? The weather turned out to be very nice last night, and we got to sit outside.

Beautiful!

Today we’ve got a 5 mile run with 3 miles at tempo pace on the schedule. I just read a great post about Tempo Runs over at Carrots ‘n’ Cake and was surprised to find that I was doing it wrong all along! I have never gradually built up to tempo pace. I just gun it and die at the end. I’m hoping this new found knowledge will make for a more pleasant tempo run.  They are my least favorite run in the training plan, but I can attest to their effectiveness, so I’ll try not to complain too much.

I’ve got a decision to make this week. I was offered an interesting but stressful and time consuming opportunity. It’s a volunteer project, and I don’t want to say too much about it before I firm up what I’m going to do, but I’m hoping for some help. I feel passionately about the project. I want to be involved, but I’m concerned about overextending myself. With work, half marathon training and all the travel coming up this year, I’m afraid I’ll be burnt out, and I don’t like that feeling. I’m also nervous about committing to something I may not actually be able to do. I’d hate to let anyone down. I have a week to decide, but I’m not sure what to do. Have you ever been faced with an opportunity but scared you wouldn’t be able to handle it? What did you do?

3 thoughts on “Big Decisions

  1. I would make a list of all the things you already have on your plate and allocate how much time you are spending for those.

    Then see if you can fit it in. Also a Pros and cons list is a good idea too! Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the tip! I’m going to definite try a pro con list. Also, I can’t seem to get to your blog 😦 when I click the link, it gives me I think an older iteration. Is there another address?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: March Wrap Up and April Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

