March Book Club: The Secret Life of Cee Cee Wilkes

Good morning sunshines!

Last night was the most perfect Friday night I can remember in a long, long time, and I did absolutely nothing! It was wonderful. I came home from work with boundless energy (very odd for a Friday), so  I decided to capitalize on it and hit the gym for a 20 minute spin interval session followed by some full body toning. I love the spin bike. It gets my blood flowing!

I came back home pretty hungry, so I got right to work on dinner which was salmon served over brown rice with roasted broccoli.

The salmon was actually frozen wild caught salmon that I found at Target, defrosted and marinated with the juice of one lemon, one lime, one orange and one teaspoon of brown sugar. I cooked it in a non stick skillet over medium heat about 4-6 minutes per side. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, and was a little nervous when I saw how orange it was, but it tasted great! I would definitely pick that up again. The broccoli was tossed with a  little olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder then roasted at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

After dinner we set out on a mission. I’m not usually one to buy into lotto madness, but a day of reading everyone’s tweets and facebook statuses gave me the fever, so we set out to buy my first ever lotto ticket. We picked one set of numbers (8, 15, 22, 29, 18, 5- our birthdays, Miles’ birthday, our anniversary my sisters’ birthday, his brothers birthday) and bought four more random sets of numbers.

We spent the rest of the night eating our weight in M&M’s, drinking wine and watching old school Dane Cook on Comedy Central. I forgot how funny he used to be! “When you die, nothing happens

We stayed up for the lotto drawing and… we’re NOT millionaires! Come on. Would I really be blogging if we were? No. I’d be on a plane to Bali. Anyway, millionaires or not, we had a really fun night.

This morning was supposed to be our 9 mile long run, but the weather is terrible. Rainy and too cold. Tomorrow is supposed to be much better, so we moved our run to Sunday and enjoyed Pancake Saturday instead!

The pancakes were 3/4 whole wheat pancake mix and 1/4 vanilla protein powder with a fried egg and the saddest piece of burnt gluten free toast I’ve ever made.

On the schedule for today is some cleaning, some errands, a lot of relaxing and a showing of Pulp Fiction at the historic Lowe’s Theater in Jersey City. It’s crazy that I lived next door to this for 2 years and never once stepped foot inside. but I’m really excited for tonight. Also, I saw Pulp Fiction for the first time ever last year (crazy, I know, when I told Chris I’d never seen it, he immediately stopped what he was doing and put it on), and I loved it, so I’m excited to see it on the big screen.

Moving on to book club, thanks to a recommendation from the lovely Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers this month I read The Secret Life of Cee Cee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain.

It’s the story of a young girl named Cee Cee Wilkes and the decision she makes at 16 that ends up reshaping her entire life. On the surface, it’s a thriller type mystery that keeps you turning pages until long after you should have gone to bed, but on a deeper level, it’s a story about being human. It’s about the ways we deal with loss, the things we do for love (both good and bad) and what makes a group of people a family.

I think this book started out very strongly. I was compelled by Cee Cee’s story. I had no idea what she would end up doing, but I wanted to know more. I feel like I read the first half of the book in a day. After that, things slowed down. The story became less thrilling and more of a detail of the day to day life of an American family.

In a not so radical turn of events, the past comes back to haunt Cee Cee and she is forced, once again, to make a decision between wrong and right. Once she does, the book picks back up again, and you’re dying to read more.

Sadly, the ending of this book sort of ruined it for me. It took an incredibly complicated and loaded situation and wrapped it up way too neatly. I had a hard time believing things could ever actually work out like that. I wished the book had spent less time focusing on the peaceful times and more on the aftermath of Cee Cee’s second major decision.

Overall, I recommend the book. It’s an interesting story that will definitely have you asking yourself, “What would I have done?” It shakes up the concept of family and makes it hard to identify a true villain in this story. Mostly, this book will probably make you want to call your mom and tell her you love her. I’m not a mom, but I know maternal love is a powerful bond, and this book does a great job of illustrating that. The characters are beautiful developed. The story is well written, and it’s a quick, enticing read.

***

Has anyone else read this book? Do you agree?

One thought on “March Book Club: The Secret Life of Cee Cee Wilkes

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes | Peanut Butter Fingers

Leave a Reply

