WIAW- 4/4

I always start with a “hello” but today I’m starting with a fun fact that Chris taught me yesterday. It’s related to my post on cities (kinda). Did you know that if the entire population of the world lived in the same density as those living in Manhattan, all of us (the whole world!) would fit in Texas?? How cool is that? I like it very much.

Today is my grandpa’s 75th birthday! Happy Birthday Grandpa!!!

Isn’t he the handsomest?

Today is also my last day of work training! I’m pretty thrilled about that. It’s been fun, but (and I can’t believe I’m saying this) I’m ready to go back to the office. The good news is, when I get back tomorrow, it’s only 2 days to the weekend!

The other good news is that, with training, my eats are actually a little different than they normally look on Wednesday, and that’s good for you too!

Breakfast was steel cut oats with protein powder and peanut butter

alongside coffee with soy milk


I was looking for a breakfast with staying power to hold me over through a morning full of learning, and this one did the trick! I also had about 15 unpictured cups of coffee at training because it was free, and the room was freezing. In case you’re wondering, 15 cups of coffee is 14 cups too many for me, so I’ll be up until next Wednesday.

When lunch finally arrived, I headed over to the Rockefeller Center concourse (I did not even know this existed until Monday), which has a billion food options and went with Just Salads. I just love Just Salads

The Hudson Valley Mix is my favorite. It’s got 47 ingredients, so I’m sure I’ll forget some, but I’m pretty sure it’s spinach, kale, goat cheese, beets, pumpkin seeds, broccoli, pears and I swapped out croutons for craisins. Topped with raspberry vinaigrette (that can’t possibly be how you spell that word), and you better believe I finished that bad boy. As for the Diet Snapple, I know. I can feel the holes forming in my brain already, but caffeination was the name of the game yesterday. It was the only way.

Back at training, there were plenty of snacks but they were all gluten filled so I stuck to chai tea with milk and sugar.

I came home hungry and knew we had some sort of workout ahead of us, so I made a little snack of

sliced apple with cinnamon and peanut butter. And, no, your eyes don’t deceive you; I had cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter twice yesterday; it’s that good.

We had a run on the schedule yesterday, but it was only 2 miles and the weather was nice, so we opted for a bike ride instead. I’m very glad we did because our bike path is a different route from our running loop, and if we hadn’t ridden bikes, I might never have seen this

A swan! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a swan in real life before, but I’ve always thought they were one of the most beautiful animals in the world.

When I saw this guy, I immediately stopped our bike ride to just stare at him, and guess what…

He came right up to me. He really was beautiful. I wanted to take him home and make him our pet so bad, but Chris reminded me that the bathtub can barely drain as it is with all my hair (let alone feathers), and besides, where would we put him when we needed to shower? Rational people: necessary, but frustrating.

After I finished moping about a lost pet opportunity and peeled myself away from the swan, we rode around town for probably 7 miles. It was great to get out and do something after sitting in class all day.

Dinner was served immediately after arriving home and was a favorite of ours around here

Chicken in a lemon dijon sauce over brown rice with garlicky green beans. It looks sort of bland, but if you like mustard, you gotta try this. It’s easy; I cut two chicken breasts into cubes and seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I seared both sides of the cubes in a non stick pan over medium heat. Then, I turned the heat down to med-low and added about 4 tablespoons of creamy dijon mustard and the juice of one lemon. I stirred in about a teaspoon of xanthan gum just to thicken it a bit, but you could use flour for this purpose too. Then, I cooked it until the chicken was done (about 7 minutes) and served over the rice. The beans were steamed then dressed with a little olive oil, chopped garlic, salt, pepper and lemon juice. It was pretty wonderful.

I’m sure I had a snack yesterday, but as of press time (aka when I wrote this last night), I could not decide what it was going to be. I know, I know, the anticipation is killing you. Until next time, Happy WIAW!

***

If space, domestication issues and local rules and regulations were not a factor, what kind of animals would you keep as pets?

I gotta go swan, red panda, elephant and most definitely pig. Pigs don’t even count though because I will have a pig someday. Rules and regulations? Psssh.

3 thoughts on “WIAW- 4/4

  1. You eats look amazing! Especially that salad! 47 ingredients? I bet it was a killer. If I could have any animal as a pet I think I would go for a penguin. They are just so silly, waddling around in their tuxes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

