Friday Favorites

It’s Friday. It was a long and busy week for sure, but it’s shaping up to be an even busier weekend. First, let’s play some catch-up.

Monday was a sleepy day. Chris and I were both so sore and tired from the 5 Boro Bike Tour, we took it very easy and rested.

Tuesday was Chris’ 27th Birthday!! I made him breakfast, and I later wined and dined him at La Conguita (a Cuban restaurant in Jersey City that Chris told me he was taking me too the night he surprised me with homemade Cuban). It was good, but not great. What was great was the cupcake I got him at Crumbs

demolished of course 

The Crumbs thing goes back to last year, when Chris and I had just started going out, he asked me to come to his birthday party. Not knowing him very well, but also being well taught not to show up to a party empty handed, I brought a Crumb’s cupcake because they are the bomb. It was a huge hit, so I stopped by after work on Tuesday and picked one up again. It was a cookies and cream cupcake, and all the icing tasted like the middle of an Oreo. It was perfect. Sadly (or maybe thankfully), Crumb’s doesn’t offer anything gluten free, so I only had a bite, but it did not go to waste.

Wednesday night, I had a friend date with a new friend from book club scheduled for 7, so Chris and I squeezed in a super quick 2.75 mile run. Even though it wasn’t much, it was speedy! And I’m glad we got the run in. Unfortunately, that meant I went to dinner pretty sweaty and gross. I guess if we’re going to be friends, Shannon should know that I spend about 75% of my non-working hours in running clothes. Oh well.

We met for Thai at Sky Thai in my neighborhood. It’s a super cute place with delicious food. I got the tofu pad thai

and Shannon got chicken curry. We talked for a million hours and generally had a blast. She’s an interior designer and has one of the most fascinating lives I’ve ever heard of. I’m super glad we got to chat one on one.

Yesterday, I did the world’s biggest grocery haul, and now I’m hopefully set through next weekend. I hate shopping on the week nights, but we’ve had such hectic weekends lately, it’s been hard to find the time. At least I’m good for a while now.

After my shopping I had every intention of running, but 2 grocery stores and 1.5 hours of shopping literally sucked the life out of me, and it was all I could do to put dinner together and collapse on the couch.

I made up for it this morning with a 3.5 mile run! I’m a beast. I know. No, it’s really just that I have a busy weekend coming up, and I’m just a much more pleasant human being when I’ve run, so I made sure to get it in when I could. Of all the reasons to run (my pants don’t fit, I’m pissed off, I’m training for something) preemptive stress relief runs are the best. I was so thankful for that little half hour of quiet, me time this morning because I knew that whatever happened in my day, it was already assuredly a good one. Knowing your going to have a good day by 6:30 am because you took care of yourself first is an awesome feeling.

You know what else was awesome? Seeing the sun come up over the Hudson

The weather is finally cooperating with us, so I woke up to clear skies and brilliant sunshine. That’s something to be extra thankful for.

Tonight we’re celebrating the birthday boy in force with our dear friends coming from the entire tri-state area (NJ, NY, and PA) to Jersey City, to our favorite local spot for pizza and good company. Some of the crew is staying over, which means I’ll be playing host for the evening/morning. It also means Miles will get to engage in his favorite activity, which is of course, sleeping on someone’s face. He doesn’t get to sleep in the bed, so he can only fulfill this dream of his when someone stays over (lucky guests, right? who wants to crash with us next??) I’m interested to see who he picks too. There are two guys who he gives love eyes to staying over, so I’m sure he’ll drive himself mad splitting his time between each of them.

Tomorrow, we’re heading to central Jersey for a joint birthday/Mother’s Day celebration with Chris’ mom and aunt. It’s a steakhouse, and even though I eat red meat maybe twice a year, I do love me a good steak. It just makes me sad that cows have to be both freaking adorable and delicious at the same time.

Sunday is maybe a 5 mile race in Hoboken, but maybe just a run around Jersey City followed by my surprise gift to Chris. I ended up filling him in on it on Tuesday to work out some logistics, so I can tell you now too! Ever since Chris got his sweet DSLR in January, every time we run or walk along Pier A in Hoboken and see this view

source

Chris laments the fact that he forgot his camera to take advantage of the spectacular photo op, so I figured now would be a good time to help him get that shot! Sunday is supposed to be beautiful (fingers crossed), so I’m packing us a picnic lunch, bringing a book and letting him take all the pictures his heart (or memory card) can stand. He loved the idea, and I’m pretty proud of myself too.

So, there you have it. A busy, but fun weekend. I’ll take as many pictures as my heart (or iPhone) can stand too and share with you soon. Until then, here’s some other things making me happy this weekend.

Favorite Outfit– Bethenny is so cute and always looks so put together. I don’t know about the hat, but I’m dying for that jean jacket over maxi dress look. If only I had a jean jacket…

Favorite Article to Ponder– Could you live apart-together? I couldn’t.

Favorite Too Beautiful To Eat– I die.

Favorite Funny- Miles can only barely make it to three.

Favorite Dream Bedroom– I don’t care that it would be dirty all the time. I just don’t care.

Favorite Brilliant Idea– this company turns your children’s drawings into actual toys. Amazing.

Favorite True Story- Every. Single. Time.

Favorite Yum– And it’s gluten free (if you omit the breadcrumbs)!

And finally, Favorite Pet I Need Yesterday

Bye friends. Talk to ya soon.

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. super cute birthday present idea 🙂 loove it 🙂

    I have a supper cute mini jean jacket and I love maxi dresses, thanks for the idea! I might sport that tonight at our party!!!

    I always check my phone for the time then have to check it again.. haha.. I thought I was the only one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

