Friday Check In and GOAR: 30-20-10?

FRIDAY! I didn’t mean to alarm you by yelling. I’m just really happy it’s finally here. It’s been a fun week, but I’m tired and ready for some weekend relaxation. I did a little lifting twice this week, and now my whole body is sore. I think I probably need to take an actual weights-based class because I’m pretty sure my form is garbage as I always seem to end up much more sore than I should be. I don’t have a gym membership though, so the trick will be finding individual classes. We’ll see how that goes.

Tuesday was supposed to be bootcamp here in Liberty State Park, but we got rained out. I have to admit I was pretty excited because I’ve been itching to run more than anything lately, so I gladly jumped on the chance to get out and stretch my legs with Chris. We followed the base building plan I set up and ran for 35 minutes, and it felt good to get out and run without worrying about pacing for the first time in a while.

Wednesday I met a friend for dinner in Montclair. We decided on Raymond’s because I’d heard very good things. The food was just ok. I got the Greek Vegetable Platter which sounded promising, but all the flavors were just sort of off. In reality, I picked this place because it’s right across the street from Red Mango, so I chased my ok dinner with froyo the size of my face.

I can never decide between pure sugar and fruit sugar when it comes to froyo, so I went with both. I got half original tart yogurt and topped that with strawberries and pineapple and half vanilla yogurt topped with cookie crumbles and sprinkles. So good.

Yesterday I was up at the crack of dawn (actually, the crack of dawn is getting earlier and earlier these days, so I think it beat me) and running again, this time for 45 minutes. It felt so good to fill my lungs with the crisp morning air as I took in the views and woke up with my wonderful neighborhood. I thought of where I was in life this time last year and found myself, once again, so grateful for where I am (mentally, physically, emotionally) right now. If you had told me that this would be my life a year ago, I wouldn’t have believed you. I feel so incredibly blessed, and I truly have more than I could ever ask for. It hit me hard yesterday morning, and I took the time to just be extremely grateful. Running will do that sometimes.

The weather just kept getting more and more beautiful as the day went on yesterday, so the coworkers and I decided to hit up a rooftop bar in Hoboken for buckets of beer in the sunshine.

Chris joined us and we partied hard (2 beers!!) for a while before heading home. This weekend is supposed to be quite lovely, so I can’t wait for it to hurry up and get here!

In the meantime, I’ve got something some of you runners might be interested in.

Hi runners.

I just read another interesting article over at my favorite place in the whole wide Interwebs, Runner’s World. It was about a new workout plan dubbed 30-20-10 that’s being praised for it’s ease, and I can see why. This is what it entails.

  1. Warm up for a mile
  2. Jog for 30 seconds, run at normal training pace for 20 secs, sprint for 10 secs and repeat 4 times
  3. Jog for 2 minutes then repeat step two 2-3 more times
  4. Cool down for a mile

That’s it. I love the simplicity of it. The article mentions that it takes away the need for any Garmins or other “tracking devices.” You really just need a watch and the road. You’re supposed to do this 3 times a week, and, I won’t go into the specifics of the study (you should read the article!), but they said runner’s who followed this plan for 7 weeks improved their 5k times by 4%.

I think this could be a really good plan for someone looking to get started with running because it’s simple, requires less mileage as well as less runs per week than most other plans I’ve seen, and I can see how varying the speed would keep you engaged. I think this is also a good plan for someone who’s looking to improve her speed without a lot of training or maybe someone who gets injured easily after too many miles per week.

I just don’t really think I could get down with this plan. Why? You did not ask. Well, I’ll tell you. Personally, one of my favorite parts of running is zoning out. I can appreciate a weekly tempo or speedwork session, but I live and die for my easy and long runs. The tempos make me feel like a supreme badass (and hot, sweaty mess), but the long loping runs leave me feeling peaceful and centered. Also, as it stands now, my weekly schedule usually involves a couple easy runs, a “working” tempo or speedwork run, and a long run, and I really like that variety. I think it would be hard for me to find motivation in the same workout day after day.

I could see myself incorporating this into my running week maybe in place of a tempo run. I’d love to try it out because I think it sounds like fun, and those results don’t lie, but I just don’t see it taking the place of my regular running routine.

What about you? Could you get down with 30-20-10?

Leave a Reply

