WIAW: Mash Up

Oh hello there. Welcome to What I Ate Wednesday: Mash Up edition.

I just realized that the title could lead you to believe that this was a post about mashed up food. Not so. Well, some of it is, but mostly I just mean that I forgot to take pictures of breakfast and lunch yesterday, so you get to see today’s breakfast and lunch and last night’s dinner, mashed up into one day. Lucky you.

Breakfast today was in two parts. At home I had a piece of Udi’s gluten free bread toasted then topped with almond butter, honey and cinnamon.

Plus a cup of coffee and a glass of wine a teeny bit of smoothie that wouldn’t fit in my travel cup.

The rest of the smoothie came to work with me today for a mid morning snack

In the mix: handful of spinach, scoop of RAW protein powder, tbsp peanut butter, 1 cup frozen mixed berries, 1 frozen banana, 1/2 cup of orange juice. I have a sore throat, and am really hoping that cool smoothie full of vitamin C kick starts my immune system.

I packed a lunch and snacks, so I can already tell you what I’ll be having when that time rolls around.

Lunch is a salad with romaine lettuce, two small granny smith apples, a big scoop of hummus and sesame ginger dressing.

Snacks will be almonds and craisins with a black cherry Chobani. My favorite snack of all time

That’s today. Let’s flash back to yesterday. After work I had a long conference call. It’s good though because now I can finally share with you the volunteer opportunity I’ve been hinting at. I think I’ll save it for May wrap up, but I’m so excited and can’t wait to finally talk about it!

After my call, Chris and I went on a 35 minute run and covered about 3.3 miles. We’re running for set periods of time rather than for distance these days, and it’s really nice to run without worrying too much over pace. We had a really interesting talk about airplanes and ashtrays and psychopaths. Yeah, we were quite tangential last night.

We came back pretty late, so I was glad that most of dinner was prepped and ready to go. It was so good you guys. So good. I made Iowa Girl Eat’s Maple Grilled Salmon on the Foreman grill, and it came out great! I followed her instructions for the salmon (which was so easy and so delicious) and the asparagus (I’d never grilled asparagus before, and it was awesome!) but I stuck to brown rice instead of cauliflower because I didn’t have any cauliflower on hand

I was really impressed with how good it looked and tasted especially given how easy it was. It took less than 5 minutes and less than 5 ingredients to make the marinade for the salmon, and it cooked up on the grill in a flash. The asparagus was so good that I’m never making it any other way again. Seriously. I’ve been converted to grilled asparagus. This meal knocked my socks off.

Tonight’s dinner will actually be out at Port O Lounge in Jersey City for my monthly book club meeting. We’re discussing Room, which I reviewed here.  It was a heavy book, so it should make for interesting conversation.

I have two athletic events on my horizons that I thought I’d share too. One is in the distant future and the other is a little closer. First, I think we’re doing a 4 mile run this weekend. I had been pondering the idea of doing the Staten Island 4 Miler, so when I heard that Chris’ cousin and her boyfriend had already signed up, we decided we’d do it for sure too. That will make for a fun Memorial Day in lieu of visiting the beach because you couldn’t pay me to drive to the Jersey shore this weekend. The Parkway is basically just a parking lot.

The next event is a bike ride proposed to me by one of my coworkers. It’s the LiveStrong Challenge Philly there’s a 5k or 10k run plus riding distances that range from 10-100 miles. Our friend Travis, who did Bike New York with us, lives outside of Philly, so I’m sure he’d be all over this. I’d like to push myself a bit and try for the intermediate distance (45-65 miles), since I currently max out at around 40, but I’m a little nervous because we’ll be right in the middle of half marathon training at that point. I have some time to think about it, but I’m sure I’ll end up wanting the challenge. I usually do. I kinda want to run the 10k too. So much to think about.

In non-running news, it’s Intern Season in the city these days, and it’s so funny seeing so many fresh, falsely confident, confused faces walking about. The name tags are usually a dead giveaway, but baby faces in brand new suits draw a lot of attention too. We have an intern coming to our group at work in a few weeks. My goal is to try to be as helpful as possible when he gets here because I definitely remember being an intern and being perpetually lost and awkward. Come to think of it, that’s not so different from how I am now. Still, the point is, being an intern is the pits. It’s totally necessary and usually a good experience at the end of the day, but it stinks, so, Interns, I feel for you. Good luck out there! And to the rest of us working for the (wo)man, Happy Hump Day! We’re halfway there!

***

What did you eat Wednesday?

Any upcoming races on your horizons?

Where you ever an intern? Did you like it?

– I interned for a major designer in the clothing industry for a year and a half, and I really loved it actually. I worked in the accounting department, so it wasn’t like I was dealing with high fashion, but it was really cool to learn the details of the industry. Everyone was nice and helpful and constantly busy, but I was still so awkward for so long. I don’t miss that feeling.

 

7 thoughts on “WIAW: Mash Up

  1. I was an intern for an art museum, and, while I absolutely loved it, I will admit that a majority of my time was spent hovering over a printer/paper cutter or stuffing envelopes into envelopes. And I kinda love the idea of a mashed theme for WIAW, haha. Spend an entire day eating food you don’t have to chew!

    I read Room a few months ago and found it incredibly interesting–going to go check out your review!

    Reply
  2. Great eats! The salmon looks delicious- I’ll have to try the recipe. I interned a TON when I was younger- Capital Hill, consulting firms, campaigns, etc. They were all really great experiences and really helpful when I was looking for my first job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

