Base Building Weeks 1 & 2

Happy Memorial Day! I hope you’re all enjoying a lovely holiday. Our weekend has been really great so far.

Friday was a date night. Chris and I planned a very exciting vacation that I’ll be sure to share soon. I cooked dinner. We watched The Help, and it was excellent. I cried.

Saturday I woke up and went on a bike ride with my Jersey City girls group in Liberty State Park.

It was hot and humid! I should have worn more sunscreen because I got a pretty nasty burn. Other than that, it was good. After our ride, Chris met up with me and we biked some more including a stop at our local farmer’s market

We made our way to lunch at a new place in Jersey City called Skylark on the Hudson. The food was good. The service was not, but, like I said, they’re pretty new, so maybe they’re still working out the kinks?

Skylark Salad, very good. Service, not so good.

Sunday we had double the BBQs, double the fun. First, we swung through our friends’ Lindsey and Steve’s for some chatting and beer drinking.

Then we headed up the road to Chris’ family’s houe for a never ending meal. It was so delicious. We left early because, this morning, we had a race! We ran the Memorial Day 4 Miler in Staten Island with Chris’ cousin and her boyfriend. I’ll do a super short recap tomorrow, but it was fun and incredibly hot.

I’d thought I’d check in with a review of how my base building is going so far. We’re 1/3 of the way through at this point, and I have to say, I’m really liking it.

As a reminder, this was the proposed plan

And this is how it’s been going so far:

Week 1

  • estimated distance: 15 miles
  • Monday- Strength Trained
  • Tuesday- Ran 35 minutes for 3.25 miles
  • Wednesday- Strength Trained
  • Thursday- Ran 45 minutes for 4.1 miles
  • Friday- Ran 35 minutes for 3.25 miles
  • Saturday- Walked 5 miles
  • Sunday- Ran 60 minutes for 5.5 miles
  • actual distance- 16.1 miles

Not too shabby.  I was actually surprised by how I was able to fit it all in. My strength training routine takes about 35 minutes and doesn’t get me nearly as sweaty as a run in this humidity so I was able to squeeze it in at times where a run definitely wouldn’t be possible.

Week 2

  • estimated distance: 18 miles
  • Monday- Rest, glorious rest
  • Tuesday- Ran 35 minutes for 3.3 miles
  • Wednesday- Strength Trained
  • Thursday- Ran 45 minutes for 4 miles
  • Friday- Ran 35 minutes for 3.3 miles
  • Saturday- Bike 17 miles
  • Sunday- Ran 60 minutes for 5.45 miles
  • actual distance 16.05 miles

The humidity just killed me this week. I started out strong sticking to the schedule on Tuesday and Thursday, but Friday’s run was brutal. Every step just seemed so much harder than it should have been, so we made the decision to cut it short. As for yesterday, we were a little tight on time with all the BBQs coming up and a bit nervous about the 4 mile race today, so we capped our run at 60 minutes, and I was struggling again, so that was fine with me.

Truthfully, I’m a little nervous about how all these runs are going. I’ve been running really consistently since the half marathon in April, but I’ve been struggling on 3 out of every 4 runs, and my pace is significantly slower than it was during training. I know I’m not actively training for anything right now, so I’m making a conscious effort not to put too much weight on forward progress, and I’m hoping that much of this has to do with the rapid rise in temperature over the past few weeks, but I’d be lying if I said I weren’t nervous and frustrated quite often after runs these days.

I also made a decision regarding strength training. Until I get to a place where I can learn better form, I am currently only doing the following exercises:

  • Bicep Curls 5 lbs, 15 reps
  • Tricep Kickbacks, 5 lbs, 15 reps
  • Rows, 5 lbs, 15 reps
  • Plank, 30 seconds,
  • Hip Raises, 15 reps
  • Bicycle Crunches 15-20
Basically, I cut out shoulders and squats. When I would do side raises for my shoulders, I’d find myself with these whomping neck pains and headaches that I can only assume are due to improper form. With squats, I was feeling a lot of pain on the outside of my knees, so I know my form is garbage there.  I hate lifting and truly only do it because I believe it makes me a stronger runner, but the second it threatens to derail any part of my runs, I drop in like a bad habit. I know I can do the above moves correctly and basically pain free (other than standard sore muscles), so in an effort to not totally abandon strength training, I’m sticking to that.
I do love the no pressure style of running for time rather than distance. On days when I’m feeling worn out I can tell myself, “just get up and move for 35 minutes” and it’s so much easier to face than thinking of trying to hit 3 or 4 miles. On days when I’m feeling great, I love to see how far I can go in 35 minutes.
I was afraid this approach would make it difficult to gauge fitness levels too, but I’ve notice that we’re getting farther and farther in our allotted time. It’s funny, I probably wouldn’t notice minute decreases in pace, but those tiny increases in mileage run make me so happy.
Overall, I really like this strategy. It doesn’t have any of the pressure of a training plan, which is important because I don’t want to feel like I’m training all year round, but it gives me the structure that I crave. I dig.
Wow. That was a long progress report. Sorry for that.
On to this week’s sweats and eats. We’ve got some travel for a wedding coming up, so things are a bit wonky this week.
Sweats:
  • Monday- 4 mile race
  • Tuesday- rest day
  • Wednesday- run 55 minutes
  • Thursday- run 35 minutes
  • Friday- rest day
  • Saturday- run 35-90 minutes (wide range, I know, I’m not sure how many wedding things we’ll need to do that day)
  • Sunday- rest day

Eats:

  • Monday- Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken (I did not make this yesterday due to the BBQs)
  • Tuesday- Pasta with Broccoli, Artichokes and Roasted Red Peppers, Salad
  • Wednesday- Leftovers
  • Thursday- Takeout
  • Friday- out
  • Saturday- out
  • Sunday- out
As I said, a bit scattered on the planning front, but I’m sure it’ll all come together somehow. Happy Memorial Day and have a great week!!
4 thoughts on “Base Building Weeks 1 & 2

  1. Pingback: Base Building Week 3 « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: Base Building Week 4 « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: Base Building Week 5 « I Broke my Umbrella

  4. Pingback: Base Building Week 6 « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

