BBQ Fest and Exciting Upcomings!

I’m so excited for this week; I can’t stand it! Let’s back that thing up (I’m sorry for that) first though and recap the weekend.

Friday I had a hot date with my man at John’s Pizza. It’s quickly becoming our favorite spot. After our date, we came home and spent quality time with our little man. He’s got a catsitter when we’re off jetsetting (hah!), but he misses us just like we miss him, so we were all craving a little family time this weekend.

Mission Accomplished.

Saturday was supposed to begin with a tempo run, but instead began with some much needed sleeping in. I don’t regret that. After we dragged ourselves out of bed and made ourselves presentable (some of us more than others *cough my hair looked a hot mess cough*) we headed into the city via the PATH to 23rd street to meet up with some friends for The Big Apple BBQ Block Party in Madison Square Park. Our friend Val had scored us some sweet tickets to the shindig, which is just one of many reasons why she’s awesome!

Chris is a BBQ fanatic, so he was salavating as soon as we got off the train. The event did not disappoint. It was hot, and the lines were long, so we were so thankful for our passes that got us entrance to a tent which provided some much needed shade, and tons of food! I don’t eat pork and very rarely eat red meat, so I came prepared that there might not be a lot I’d want to eat, but I actually did ok. There was beef and pork aplenty (duh it’s a BBQ), but one of the vendors also provided roasted turkey, which was new and different. Plus there were like 47 different varieties of cole slaw to sample, so I actually left feeling quite full.

Turkey BBQ, Coleslaw and Pickles!!

Blueberry ale that left me craving a bit more blueberry, but was still refreshing.

This looks like a total mess but in actuality was the most delicious blueberry cobbler I have ever had in my life. It might be one of the best desserts I’ve ever had. It had an oatmeal crust that made it hearty and sweet and delicious. So good. I definitely went back for seconds on this one.

The company, of course, was wonderful too

(pics stolen from Val)

It was a blast, and I’m so glad that we had the opportunity to check it out with our friends.

Saturday’s relaxation was the perfect prep for Sunday’s insanity! Chris had to head back to Florida (Orlando this time) for a work convention. I can’t believe the poor guy had to get back on a plane less than a week after Miami. He wasn’t really too excited about it either, but he and his boss go to this convention every year, and they always have a great time, so as soon as he landed he was feeling a little bit better.

I miss him like crazy, but I’m keeping my eyes on the prize, which is … DISNEY WORLD! I’m so excited I could explode. Seriously. When we found out that the convention was in Orlando (it moves yearly) we joked about maybe going to Disney, then kind of forgot about it. Once we realized how busy it would be in the weeks leading up to the convention, we decided it would be great to have a future event to look forward too, so we committed to Disney!! His convention ends Thursday, so I’m flying out Friday to meet up with him and go to Disney! I haven’t been to Disney in years (more than 10!), so I’m so, so, so excited! I still miss Chris, but I’m just counting the seconds until our Florida reunion.

He left Sunday morning, so I was up and at ’em early taking him to the airport, and then, I was on the hunt for new bedding. I had an image in my mind that I wanted, and was desperately searching for the right stuff at the right price. My first stop was Bed Bath & Beyond, but I found their selection slim and their prices ridiculous ($100 for a duvet cover?? is that crazy or is that just me? I mean it’s a thin sheet of cotton!!). I had more luck in their Bath & Beyond sections and got a few cute upgrades for my bathroom. I had sort of given up on the bedding thing, but decided to check Target, just in case, and was so pleasantly surprised! Usually, I feel like their selection is too childish for me, but I guess I haven’t checked them out in a while. The final product (wrinkly, but you get the idea)

Gray and white striped duvet ($30 is much, much more reasonable) with light blue sheets and the cutest gray pillows. I love it! Originally, I was really feeling the gray and yellow look, but decided gray and blue was a bit more classic and more “a boy sleeps here too.”

Why am I sprucing my apartment up, you don’t ask? Well, before I leave for Florida, my Mama is coming to town (told you June was CRAZY)!! Not just my mama either. She and my littest sister are driving up from South Carolina today, and my middlest sister is flying in to meet all of us on Thursday!! I’m so excited to see my girls! Usually, I’m heading down to them, but last year, they came up here, and I guess they must have liked it because they’re coming back for more!

It works out perfectly too because the apartment will be a little crowded with all four of us here, so when I leave for Florida, they’re going to stay the weekend, explore the city and take care of Miles! It’s a win win.

This is their first time staying with me since I moved in with Chris, so I just wanted to make sure everything was in tip top shape. That meant almost 4 hours of cleaning today. We have a one bedroom apartment. That’s a lot of cleaning. I also clean pretty thoroughly every week, but this time I pulled out all the stops. I mean I dusted EVERYTHING. I washed EVERYTHING that could be washed (and some things that probably couldn’t), and I took 4 bags of garbage out. I am so impressed with how the apartment looks. Too bad it will only stay like this for oh… the next 20 minutes. Isn’t it crazy how quickly things get grubby? Oh well, all that matters is that my family is coming, and I can’t wait.

I’ve been looking forward to this week for months, and now that it’s finally here, well, I’m just thrilled!

I hope your weekend is fabulous too!

***

Have you been to Disney as an adult? Is it still a total blast??

Do you clean like crazy when your parents/in-laws are dropping by?

6 thoughts on “BBQ Fest and Exciting Upcomings!

  1. that BBQ festival looks amazing!

    I haven’t been to Disney in sooooooo long. omg. I want to go back so bad. I am super jealous! Have a great time!

    And yes I super clean when people come over.

    Reply
  2. Your new bedding is super cute! I’ve been to Disney as an adult and truthfully….we were a little bored and wishing we had kids with us. The first few hours were fun, but it wasn’t quite the same as being there as a kid. I’m sure you guys will have fun if you go though!

    Reply
  3. That paw/foot picture is TOO adorable. I went back to Disney in high school, and, while still fun, wasn’t as amazing as it was when I was a kid. You start focusing on how ridiculously expensive everything is, how repetitively commercial it is, and how crowded it is. It was still fun, but it’s not the same thing as when you’re a kid and can only think FUN while tramping around in the heat all day, haha.

    Reply
    • The heat, crowds and high cost definitely did start to wear on us. It’s not quite the same “magic” as when you’re young, but it was still a fun experience. I don’t think I’d go back again as an adult though. Once is probably enough for a while.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

