Base Building Week 5

I’m sorry  I didn’t get my wrap up of Base Building Week 5  up sooner (better late than never). It’s been a crazy week. I had my family come and stay with my Tuesday through Friday, and Friday through Sunday I was in Orlando with Chris! There will be more on that soon, but for now, let’s talk about running. In case you want to catch up on the entire base building plan here are Weeks 1 & 2, Week 3, and Week 4

Week 5

  • estimated: 22 miles
  • Monday- easy 55 for 5.3 miles. After being hot and humid all day, a storm started brewing right as I was heading out for my run. The temperature dropped (to like 60!), the clouds came out and the wind picked up just a bit. It was the perfect weather to hit the road, so I did. I aimed for negative splits and I got them. I was quite pleased with this run even though I was feeling some soreness in my left… everything. Seriously, left IT band, left calf and left foot all hurt. I came home, foam rolled everything, and am happy to report that I woke up with lingering pain only in my foot. Two out of three pains vanquished ain’t bad.
  • Tuesday- rest day. Family came to town. We enjoyed ourselves.
  • Wednesday- easy 45 for 4 miles. Oh my. It has been a seriously long time since I’ve done a very early morning run. I was up by 5 and out the door by 5:20 (not sure what takes me so long in the morning), and I was DRAGGING. It was brutal. I probably looked like I was dying. I was half asleep. My stomach was not cooperating, and the humidity was hitting me hard. Still, I was finished by 6:05, and I’m so glad I ran.
  • Thursday- rest day. I took this day off to relax and spend time with my family before heading to Orlando.
  • Friday- 40 minutes speed work for 3.7 miles. 10 minute warm up followed by 4 repetitions of an interval that looked like this: 3 minutes at a 9:30 pace, 2 minutes of recovery. 10 minute cool down. This was a tough session. Chris was exhausted from a week of intense sessions at his conference. I was beat and stressed from my day of travel. It was pretty hot in Florida around 3:30 (go figure!), so we hit the hotel treadmills and just sort of zoned out. It was a good start to our vacation though. I think it helped burn off any residual stress from our week apart and got us ready to relax and enjoy the weekend.
  • Saturdayrest day. We made the last minute decision to visit Universal Studios on Saturday and were a little unsure about how we’d manage all that walking after a run, so we skipped it, and it was the absolute right decision. We must have walked like 10 miles, and we came back exhausted (in a good way) and sore. That helped us decide that we wouldn’t run Sunday either.
  • Sunday rest day. Following Saturday’s example, we skipped the run knowing we’d be walking all over Disney’s Magic Kingdom and Epcot. Again, it felt like we walked 10 miles.
  • actual: 13 miles plus probably 20 miles of walking.

I had to shuffle this week around a bit to accommodate my mom and sisters coming to town in the beginning of the week and me heading out of town towards the end of the week. That meant a later than I would like run and an earlier than I would like run, but you gotta do what you gotta do I suppose. The distances were short enough that it was manageable if not totally pleasant.

As for the long run, it didn’t make the cut. Again, I know I’ll regret decisions like this come half marathon training time, but it was the right call this week. There was no time to do it before my family came to town, and I wasn’t about to take time away from them to run for an hour and a half. We thought about doing it on vacation, but I also didn’t want to take time out of our vacation to run that long. It was a mental health kind of call, and I don’t regret it.

We had a lot of rest days this week, but they were definitely active rest days. Walking those theme parks was no joke! My feet and legs are sore in totally new to me places, so I feel like I still got a couple very good workouts this weekend. Like I said last week, I want to build a solid base of running before heading into half marathon training, but I also don’t want to burn out before I even start. I’m really focused on relaxing and enjoying the summer, and believe me, after this trip (recap coming soon!) I really, really am.

One thought on “Base Building Week 5

  1. Pingback: Base Building Week 6 « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

