Orlando! Universal! Disney

Hello there. As I mentioned, there’s been a lot going on lately, but I’m trying to get you up to speed. I told you that my family came to visit last week, and I also said that their visit was a quick one because I was off to Orlando last Friday morning to meet Chris for our vacation!! If you’re thinking, “didn’t you just get back from Florida?” you’re correct. We were in Miami a few weeks ago for a wedding, but it just so happened that Chris had to return to Florida for work only it was Orlando this time. We figured that this would be the perfect opportunity for a little vacation, so we jumped on it!

After a week apart, this guy was surely a sight for sore eyes

Our hotel was right in Downtown Disney, so we checked in and immediately booked it to Rainforest Cafe for one of the best salads I’ve ever had

We spent the rest of the evening exploring Downtown Disney and just relaxing

I can’t even tell you how much I missed this kid. I was so happy to be in the same state again, I thought my heart might explode.

After a fun and restful night, we slept in a bit then headed to Universal Studio’s for some fun! As soon as we got there, I did something I swore I’d never do again.

I rode a roller coaster! I’ve only ever been on a roller coaster one other time in my life, and I hated it. Whatever the opposite of an adrenaline junkie is, that’s me. I hate that heart racing, nervous feeling, but I love this boy

So I agreed to go on The Hulk with him. Just once. I knew I had to do it right away or I’d chicken out, so I did, and I screamed my face off the whole entire time. There’s a point where the ride stops for a brief minute before plunging you back down to earth, and I may or may not have said, “I hate this and I hate you.” What can I say? Roller coasters make me nasty. It was exciting, but I can’t really say I enjoyed it. I think twice in a lifetime is enough for me.

We also rode the Jurassic Park ride… before

And after

So, yeah, we got a little soaked. It was nice though considering it was a very hot day.

We explored some other sections of the park

before heading over to the section of the park we were both dying to see

HARRY POTTER WORLD!!! It was awesome. Just awesome

It was totally worth the trip and the crowds. As someone who’s read all the books and seen all the movies, it was everything I could have asked for.

I rode a smaller, much more Kate friendly coaster

and ate a famous turkey leg

before riding the flagship Harry Potter ride. That may have been a bad choice. The ride was really cool, and I definitely recommend it, but it’s a motion simulator, and I’m prone to motion sickness, so it wasn’t a very good combination. I had to sit quite still on a bench for about 45 minutes following that experience. Luckily, we were in no rush. We were on vacation!

Don’t worry, my appetite came back. It always does. So I bought some dark chocolate mint toads from Honeydukes. They are perfection.

After a yummy dinner at Emril’s, we explored all over the rest of the park too.

I’ll admit, I wasn’t thrilled about visiting Universal because I didn’t think there was much to it, but I was so wrong! We spent the entire day there and could have easily spent more time just exploring and riding the rides. It was an awesome time.

We woke up the next morning tired and sore from all that walking but also really excited for Disney World! First stop, Magic Kingdom, of course.

It surely is magical.

I agreed to go on Splash Mountain, but I screamed so hard on the drop down that I must have temporarily blacked out because I was seeing stars when the ride stopped. I’m such a chicken, I even amaze myself.

The only bummer part about Disney was our stop at Tomorrowland. We had both been to Disney before, but Chris told me that the last time he was there, he couldn’t ride Space Mountain because it was closed for repairs. After learning that, it basically became my mission to get him on that ride. I talked it up, and we were both really excited. You can imagine our surprise when, after waiting on line for 15 minutes, they told us that ride was closed and we had to leave the building! We felt even worse though for the poor people stuck on the ride. Yikes! I would have died. We told ourselves that we’d come back later to see if it was up and running again, but we were hungry for some dinner, so we headed to Epcot.

We sort of raced around the Epcot world because we needed foods from Italy stat!

Can we pause for a moment here? Because seeing that seafood risotto again just made me swoon. This was the best meal of the trip. This is probably one of the top ten best meals I’ve ever had in my life. It was super creamy risotto in a slightly spicy tomato sauce with mussels, clams, calamari and shrimp, and it was amazing. Seriously, there are no words to do it justice, but promise me that if you go to Epcot, you will eat this risotto at Tutto Italia. Please.

It was so very nice sitting at dinner and watching the sunset with some wine and the love of my life. It was my favorite moment of the whole trip. We were exhausted from two days of walking everywhere and a little sad that our vacation was coming to an end, but we were also totally relaxed and peaceful and so excited to get home to Miles and our life here. It was just one of those happy little moments that I wish I could bottle and save forever.

After dinner, we walked and explored a bit more of Epcot. It’s a really fun part of the park. I would definitely go back because there is just so much to see and do. We decided at that point that we were exhausted, and there was no way we were going back to Magic Kingdom. What were we thinking?

On our way out of the park, we decided to ride the Finding Nemo ride, and I’m so glad we did! It took you through an actual aquarium! I don’t have any pictures to share because the glare from the glass made it impossible, but it was so cool. We got to see the two most playful dolphins, a giant sea turtle and the sleepiest manatee on record. Dude was passed out right on the ocean floor. Amazing. After that, we headed back to our hotel to relax and enjoy our last night of vacation, but not before stopping for ice cream… with Mickey sprinkles!!

Perfect vacation.

5 thoughts on “Orlando! Universal! Disney

  1. Pingback: June Wrap Up and July Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: December Goals/2012 Wrap Up « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: It’s my birthday! | i broke my umbrella

Leave a Reply

