Rooftop Sunset Yoga

I’ve been saying for a while that I wanted to get back to yoga. Two years ago, I was really into it, going at least twice a week, and I noticed marked improvements in my running, posture, back pain and definitely my flexibility. I’m not really sure why I stopped, probably I was too busy with running and life, but I’ve gotten really, really inflexible over the last year (turns out, taking a 12+ month hiatus will do that), and I knew that had to change.

I bought a Living Social deal to a yoga studio, Sun Moon Yoga, at 85% (!!!) off for two months of unlimited classes way back in March, and haven’t gotten around to using it since. Mostly, it was because of half marathon training,  but I wrapped that up in April, so I was running out of excuses.

This was supposed to be the week of yoga. A friend told me about free outdoor yoga in Hoboken on Tuesday nights, so I rounded up a few girls, and we set out for the park. We got ourselves all settled on mats by 6:45, ready for the 7 pm start, and then we waited. Around 7:20, someone came around and told everyone that yoga was cancelled for the night. We decided appetizers and wine would make us feel less slighted, but I was starting to think yoga wasn’t in the cards for me.

Then, Wednesday, an opportunity popped up for free outdoor yoga again! This time it was on a rooftop in the Jersey City Powerhouse Arts District, an area I’ve always liked, but never really explored. At first, I wasn’t sure about it because it was at 7:30, which is a tad late for me (I get home from work at 5), but I knew if I didn’t go, I’d never actually get to yoga, so I went, and I’m so glad I did!!

The views were stunning. You could literally see the entire city as well as Newark and New York.

Plus, we really were watching the sun set.

It was pretty quiet up on the roof, and I was excited to get my yoga on.

Happy Feet.

I was a little bit nervous, having not downward dogged in a while, but I reminded myself, “It’s a practice” and that I probably wouldn’t be THAT bad.

Um… then the instructor came up to me during a forward bend and asked if I had an injury 😦 nope. I’m just a runner; it’s more of a mental illness, really 😉

I’ve always had incredibly tight hamstrings, but running makes them much, much worse. Combine that with almost no flexibility work over the last year (save physical therapy), and I’m lucky if I can even get my fingertips past my knee caps. It was obvious the instructor was just trying to help, and she did offer some great modifications, but it definitely embarrassed me, so I vowed to get my butt (and hamstrings) to yoga more often.

With views like this

How could I not?

The class was free this time, but she’s going to begin charging for classes Mondays and Wednesdays, so my biggest question now is, should I cash in my Living Social voucher for free yoga for the next two months (practice is inside, but the times are better) or pay for yoga for the rest of the summer (practice outside in beautiful views at awkward times) and save the freebies for the fall?

Either way, I’m going to be getting a lot more bendy soon!

 

6 thoughts on “Rooftop Sunset Yoga

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workout Wrap Up « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: June Wrap Up and July Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: Weekly Work Out Wrap Up 7/15 « I Broke my Umbrella

  4. Pingback: July Wrap Up and August Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

  5. Pingback: August (Summer) Wrap Up and September (Fall) Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

  6. Pingback: Newport Liberty Half Training- Race Week!! « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

