Newport Liberty Half Training Week 2

Check out week 1!

Week 2 was supposed to look like this:

  • 3 miles @ 12:44
  • 4 miles inc warm; 2×1600 in 10:28 w/ 800 jogs; cool
  • 2 miles @ 12:44
  • 8 miles @ 12:44

and looked like this:

Monday- rest day.  I was still a little sore after my back to back long run and Barre Class on Saturday and our bike ride Sunday, so I took a rest day and caught up on The Newsroom (so good, so cheesy) and wine (always good)

Tuesday- 3 miles @ 9:55. I met up with Debbie for an early morning 3 miler and was incredibly saddened to discover that the sun is no longer up waiting for me to get out and run. On the flip side, I got to see an astounding sunrise. West Coasters, you can keep your sunsets. Nothing beats a sunrise.

Anyway, the run was tougher than it should have been. We ran faster last week, but this felt harder, and it really shouldn’t have since it was supposed to be an easy run, but I’ve gotten used to pushing myself with Debbie, so it was hard to slow down. Ultimately, I finished feeling tired but not exhausted, so I don’t think too much damage was done.

Later that day, feeling super motivated, I decided to ride my bike to Hoboken rather than take the light rail like I usually do. Tuesday was another free outdoor yoga night, so I rode my bike 3 miles to Pier A to get my stretch out. The practice was good, but every other move was a plank. My abs still hurt. Afterwards, I rode my bike home, which was fun but a little scary because it’s getting dark so much earlier, and I don’t have a bike light. I went slowly, but I think this is probably the last week I could get away with biking home.

Wednesday-rest day.  After work I drove down to North Brunswick to meet up with my sorority’s previous advisor and the current president to talk about what our goals are for the coming school year. I’m so excited to begin working with the chapter. I think it’s going to be very challenging but also a lot of fun! We met for dinner, and I didn’t make it home until almost 10 o’clock. Being in work clothes for 15 hours is not fun.

Thursday- 3 miles @ 9:31. Despite the late night Wednesday, the cool air Thursday morning gave me the kick I needed to turn out 3 speedy (for me!) miles. I love them too. They just flew by and reminded me why I love running.

Friday- 8 miles @ 11:47. Running at the end of the day is always tough, but running at the end of the day on the last day of a long week is especially challenging. I always find myself so mentally and physically exhausted. Chris and I decided to do our long run Friday night because our weekend was filling up fast, and we weren’t sure where else we could fit it in. A storm was brewing all day Friday, but we managed to run at that point just before the storm starts when the air is perfectly still. It made for a very thick run. Chris described it best when he said, “It feels like we’re running through soup.” It really did. Obviously, we were slower than last week’s 11:10 pace, but I’m ok with that. We were tired, it was muggy and we still ran a full minute per mile faster than prescribed.

Saturday- 16 miles biked. We intended to knock another item off my Summer Bucket List by checking out Summer Streets, but it was looking pretty miserable outside when we woke up, so we decided to skip it in favor of apartment hunting. Annoyingly, it quickly turned into the most beautiful day of the weekend with cool, sunny weather, so we totally could have had a fun day in the city. Unfortunately, it was too late to think about heading it at that point, so we took the bikes up the waterfront to Hoboken instead. It was fun, but Summer Streets would have been better.

Sunday- speed work skipped. Chris and I had a very fun adventure planned for Sunday thanks to Debbie and Mike, and I figured there’d be a lot of walking involved, so we  shelved our speed work until next week. It turned out to be a good decision because we probably walked at least 4 miles and came home exhausted! I can’t imagine how tired we must have felt if we had run. I’ll do a post on our adventure soon, but for now, here’s a teaser…

 

In total:

14 miles run

22 miles biked

1 hour yoga’d

 

5 thoughts on “Newport Liberty Half Training Week 2

  1. Pingback: Newport Liberty Half Training Week 3 « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: Newport Liberty Half Training Weeks 4 & 5 « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: Newport Liberty Half Training Week 6 « I Broke my Umbrella

  4. Pingback: Newport Liberty Half Training- Race Week!! « I Broke my Umbrella

  5. Pingback: Race Recap: Newport Half Marathon « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

