All things fall

After the most perfectly relaxing Friday night, Chris and I met up with friends on Saturday morning way, way down in Central Jersey 😉 for a little apple/pumpkin picking action and a day of fall things.

Following a quick lunch at the Wegman’s deli (oh how I wish we had Wegman’s up here) we drove out to the orchards.

 

Apple season is quickly winding down, but we still managed to pick more than a few off the trees. Tip: it’s all in the wrists. If the apple doesn’t come off the tree with a slight twist of the wrist, it’s not ready to go yet. I couldn’t believe how many different types of apples there were! Up until this point, I had probably only ever tried Golden Delicious, Red Delicious, Granny Smith and Gala (my favorite) but we saw Winesaps, Jonathans, Red Romes, Arkansas Blacks and others which I’m sure I’m forgetting. I tried a few on the spot, but mostly bagged the rest to take home and turn into even more deliciousness! (Spoiler: I made no-sugar-added apple sauce {4 apples peeled, cored and chopped plus 1/4 cup water, cinnamon and nutmeg cooked in a pot over medium for 25 minutes then mashed with a masher or fork} and an apple crumble with gluten free pancake mix {just follow this recipe but replace pancake mix with g free variety of choice})

Next, it was on to the pumpkins. I can’t remember the last time I carved a pumpkin, so I wasn’t really sure what to look out for, and, honestly, I wanted them all. Still, each couple picked one pumpkin and we loaded them into the car to await their fate.

 

We couldn’t leave without sampling some orchard goodies, so we swung by the farm store for hot cider, apple fritters and some cider donuts. Yum. Hot cider is delicious and at least 100xs better than apple juice.

Having no artistic ability (or desire really) and a propensity toward injury, I left the carving to Chris, but he agreed that I did a stellar job of scooping out that pumpkin. I don’t have a creative bone in my body, but my goodness, I am efficient! I had that bad boy clean enough to eat out of it 10 minutes.

While the boys got to work tracing the designs and carving some pumpkins, the girls started on dinner and snacks.

Steph roasted pumpkins seeds in two varieties: salt & pepper and sweet & spicy. They were amazing! And it was really no small task. It took her about an hour to sort, wash and dry those seeds, but I’m so glad she did because they are so addicting! Then, Lindsey made us all an awesome homemade dinner, which we thoroughly enjoyed especially after a day of non-stop sugar feasting. Our pumpkins turned out so great. Obviously, Umair’s Heisenberg pumpkin stole the show, but Steve’s bat cat (sadly unpictured) and Chris’ ghosts were pretty impressive too.

 

Completely exhausted and full, we called it a night and drove back up to Jersey City. It was a long day, but we couldn’t have asked for better weather or a better time.

Unfortunately, the next day we had to visit my least favorite place (well, other than the airport) Ikea. Ikea steals my money and my sanity. Seriously, though, we did pretty well. Our new place feels a little smaller than our current apartment, so we wanted to get rid of some of the bulkier pieces of furniture we have now and pick up some new stuff that seemed a little sleeker. We also needed a wardrobe as our closet space is basically being halved. Oh and we needed a bed as ours is breaking and curtains for our giant new windows 🙂

In a little under 3 hours, we found a new desk (including book shelf for $75!!!), table (including 4 chairs!!!), wardrobe (not including lions or witches), bed and curtains. Not too shabby. Maybe I don’t hate Ikea.

Actually, I do. We were under the misimpression that delivery is done by weight, so we loaded as much as we could into the car. We actually fit all of it in our little Mazda 3, but decided that one box was positioned so that if we got rear ended, my head would pop off. Being that we had to take the Jersey Turnpike home and that I’m a fan of my head (I’ve grown attached to it, har har) we opted to have just that piece delivered. Imagine our surprise when we learned delivery would be $85 for whether they delivered that piece or every single piece we bought. Blerg. Cue us (Chris all by himself actually) unloading the entire car that we (yes, we, I helped a little) just loaded up.

Still, $85 for delivery rather than Chris (I really gotta get to this place they call a “weight room”) hauling  all that furniture by himself was totally worth it. See you Friday new furnitures! See you never Ikea!!

See you guys later! Happy Autumn!

5 thoughts on “All things fall

  1. Pingback: October Wrap Up (better late than never?) « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: Happy Friendsgiving! « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: November Wrap Up/December Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

  4. Pingback: December Goals/2012 Wrap Up « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

