Crossfit Jersey City

Last night, I got to try something totally new to me that I’ve been hearing so much about… Crossfit!

 

No, no I won’t become THAT girl, but I am going to tell you about it because I seriously had such a good time!

Last night was the first introductory class for Crossfit Jersey City. Debbie and I decided, being the Jersey City fitness aficionados that we are 😉 that we should probably check this out. We even convinced Chris and Mike to come.

This is the part where I kick myself for leaving my phone at home and not being able to take any pictures. I think I would have been a little nervous to start clicking away plus there really was no down time!

I can show you where it is though.

 

Right there in Jersey City! Not Hoboken, Jersey City! I can’t tell you how fun it is to have something cool and trendy (gosh I sound like my grandmother) come to JC. I feel like we’re finally becoming a place to be, and I love it.

Ok, now for the class. So, I’ve never done Crossfit before, and I honestly didn’t know too much about it aside from what I’ve read on other blogs, but I asked Debbie (who’s visited the Crossfit in Hoboken) what to expect, and she basically said I could expect to be very sore the next day. Spoiler: she was right.

Unsure of what to wear I went with the workout classic of capri tights, a tank top and a zip up jacket over top. I wore my Nike Frees which are a lighter weight sneaker that I generally wear if I’m not going to be running very much. I think these were a good choice. My only other tip would be: bring water! I didn’t have any, and that was a mistake.

The box was brand new and really clean with bright green accents that just looked very cool. Debbie and Mike said it’s on the smaller side, but I never felt cramped. In fact the whole thing feels really open.

I’m not going to lie, even with three friends there, I was really nervous. I mean, running? I got that. Lifting? Not so much. Still, the atmosphere was really welcoming as soon as we walked in. The trainers and a couple of other people who signed up for the class walked right over, introduced themselves and gave us a rundown of where to sign in and put our stuff.

After everyone was set up, we started the class with a 200m run to the end of the block and back. Once inside, the instructor, Dan (I think; I’m so bad with names!) had us just jumping around and moving our arms to keep our heart rates up and our muscles warm.

Next, they explained what the workout of the day would be and showed us exactly what the moves should look like.

 

I know, I know, but bear with me. The workout was 4 rounds of 40 seconds on, 20 seconds off of the following moves:

  • Goblet (weighted) Lunges
  • Burpees
  • Sit Ups
  • Row (on the erg machine)

Once the instructors showed us the moves, they had us practice a few while they made some form corrections.

After another quick run around the block, we broke into teams and got to it. It was so intense. The lunges were by far the worst for me, but the burpees were no picnic either. Despite all that, I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun in a workout. The music was blaring (that Audioslave song saved me around round 3), and the instructors were cheering everyone on.

I was worried going in that I would feel silly because I really don’t have a ton of strength, but because the workout was for time rather than number of reps, you just did as many as you could then moved to the next station with the rest of the class. No pressure at all. Besides, I think everyone was so focused on just doing their own moves correctly, no one really paid attention to anyone else.

Even without the competition it’s a great workout. Every time the instructors told us we were getting to the end of an interval I felt this surge of adrenaline to just get one more really good rep in before time was called. When I’m alone in the weight room, my last rep is usually garbage, so I even surprised myself with my enthusiasm last night.

The instructors ended the session with a Q&A about Crossfit and told us when the Fundamentals Classes (required before you can attend regular classes) would be held. They encouraged everyone to hang out and stretch and chat, which was really cool considering it was a free class, and we’d already taken up so much of their time.

I came home and foam rolled immediately liked they suggested, and spent the rest of the night stretching, so I’m not as sore this morning as I expected. Still, when I cringed just trying to get out of bed, I knew I worked hard!

To sum up an already ridiculously long review, I’ll simply say, I had a wonderful experience at Crossfit Jersey City. The location is great and clean. The instructors are friendly and fun, and the workout will kick your butt into next week. If you’re in the area, and looking for an awesome workout, definitely check this out. You can make class reservations (including Fundamentals Classes in yellow) online.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crossfit Jersey City

  1. Pingback: Westfield Turkey Trot 5 Miler « I Broke my Umbrella

  2. Pingback: November Wrap Up/December Goals « I Broke my Umbrella

Leave a Reply

