Book Club Review: Gone Girl

Oh baby. This one was a doozie. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is the type of book you need to just take a deep breath after reading.

 

I really don’t want to spoil this book for anyone, so I’ll keep this review short and vague. First, let me say that I’m so glad I picked the Thanksgiving long weekend to read this book otherwise my work would have surely suffered as I stayed up every night just tearing through this book. Seriously, one night I stayed up reading until 2:30 in the morning. I honestly can’t remember the last time I’ve been up that late.

The book starts with a bang on the morning of Amy and Nick Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Nick comes home from work to find his wife has disappeared under suspicious circumstances. As the story progresses, Nick becomes the prime suspect, but did he do it?

Gone Girl is written from the present perspective of Nick from the past perspective of Amy via diary entries from the day she and Nick meet to the day of her disappearance. Considering that Nick is narrating, I was shocked that I could not form an opinion on whether or not I thought he did it.

I pride myself on being very hard to fool. I generally don’t enjoy suspense novels because I can usually figure out what’s going to happen #humblebrag. The only exceptions to this have been The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series and 11/22/63 and now this. There was literally a point in the book where I sat up from the couch and said, “Shut the front door!” (we’re trying to work on our cursing) and had to quickly explain to Chris everything that had happened because I could not believe it.

I feel like I always have something negative to say in these reviews. Honestly, it’s just a part of my personality. I guess I can be a little critical. Truly, I loved this book. It’s a great read that I would recommend to anyone. I just have to add that I liked the first half more than the second. I felt that the second dragged just a bit for me as compared to the thrilling suspense in the first half.

The ending thrilled me though. I know some people found it far fetched, but I loved it. I thought it was completely in line with the tone of the book and succinctly ended the story for me.

One question for anyone’s who’s read, and this isn’t a spoiler, but what was in the silver box?? Is it every explained? It didn’t start driving me crazy until I read the Amazon summary, but now I need to know.

Ok, so read this book, but don’t expect to sleep until you’ve finished it, and even then you might have some trouble.

3 thoughts on “Book Club Review: Gone Girl

  1. Pingback: Book Club Review: Sharp Objects | i broke my umbrella

Leave a Reply

