December Goals/2012 Wrap Up

New Year’s Eve? Really? That’s the year folks! I can’t even believe it. I’m saving my 2013 goals for another post, as this one feels like it’s gonna be a long one already. I hope that you and yours have a happy and safe New Year’s Eve and that 2013 brings you nothing but the best!

Let’s revisit December!

  • Listen to Christmas music I listened all the time. In the car, while I was cooking, and at work. I never really considered myself a Christmas person, but I’ve been really into it this year.  I don’t like the radio type Christmas songs with the exception of a few (“Baby it’s Cold Outside” and “Sleigh Ride” come to mind), but I do like all the Christmas carols like “O Holy Night” “O Come all ye Faithful” “Gloria” “Carol of the Bells” and “Little Drummer Boy” so I found a great Pandora station for that. And I can’t forget the absolutely amazing Carol Sing!

IMG_1616[1]

  • Set up our own tree and string some lights. I love our little tree. I’ve never had a fake tree before, but I have to say, it’s much easier! We ordered it on Amazon and it came put together and pre lit! You still get that warm, fuzzy feeling when all the lights are off and the tree is on, but without all the needles! It looks better at night, and yes, that is a mouse atop our tree. We had to borrow one of the cats’ toys because it looked so sad with nothing. Maybe next year we’ll actually get ornaments…

IMG_1672[1]

  • Get my Christmas shopping/shipping/wrapping done early. I ordered everything but the stocking stuffers and a gift card online. My Amazon Prime membership has already paid for itself for the year.
  • Run a holiday 5k  Chris and I ran the Jersey City Jingle Bell 5k! Chris PR’ed!
  • Toast Cameron’s engagement Yay Cam!! She got engaged a couple weeks after the hurricane, and I couldn’t be happier for her and Rich. We took her out for dinner and drinks and got to hear the whole fabulous tale!
  • Visit the tree we never had the time for this one. It was a very busy (and wet) holiday season, and we just never made it in to the city to see that big tree. Don’t worry though, I think they put it up anyway.
  • Kiss under some mistletoe  not done. I guess people don’t do this anymore because there was no mistletoe to be found. Bah humbug! Still, we kissed elsewhere, so I think we’re good.
  • Run a 15k Ran the Ted Corbitt 15k in Central Park!

IMG_1631[1]

IMG_1650[1]

  • Drink a peppermint mocha!- Nope but I did drink my share of Gingerbread Lattes… yum!
  • Throw a NYE party! It’s in the works! No stopping us now. Details to follow
  • Set some 2013 goals!  and they’re coming soon!

And I wrapped up my goals for the year too!

  • Complete 12 random acts of kindness I think I topped out at 18. Not bad at all.
  • Pay off my car– 
  • Donate 24 hours of my time-This was probably closer to 30.
  • Run 2 half marathonsRutgers Unite and Newport!
  • Learn 3 new skills I think I learned like 8 baby skills. I can’t say I’m walking away from 2012 proficient in anything groundbreaking, but at least I tried some new things.
  • Read 12 books I think I’ll finish the year with 17. Check some of them out here!

And this year’s total mileage comes to… 675! Maybe next year we’ll break 700.

It’s been a really good year. I can’t believe all I managed to fit in twelve little months. I won’t do a full recap because there’s just too much and I don’t want to leave anything out, but some of the highlights for me were …

Visiting my grandparents in Florida

Running the Rutgers Half

Doing the 5 Borough Bike Tour

Celebrating Chris’ birthday

Celebrating our One Year Anniversary!

Disney World!

Making new wonderful friends

Taking the ferry to Sandy Hook, NJ 

GERMAN ADVENTURE!

Running the Newport Half

Visiting Philly

Moving into our new apartment

Pumpkin and Apple Picking

Friendsgiving

and

Christmas

This year had some low points too, of course, but I found myself with so very much to be thankful for. Wonderful friends and family (a much more geographically close family this year!) as well as the love of my life who make the fun times funner and the tough times lighter and the two little monsters made this year the best yet, and while I’m sad to see it go, I’m even more excited to find out what 2013 has in store. It may not all be great, but with the people I love by my side, I feel ready to weather whatever storms are in store.

Love and light. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

