2013 Goals

Happy New Year! As promised, I made a list of some 2013 goals. It’s a lot, and there are no pictures, so you can basically stop reading now. These are mostly for me because I think things written out, and it’s much easier for me to chart progress if I’ve got a baseline to refer back to, but, in case you’re interested, read on. I’ll skip ahead and give you the TL;DR version: My overarching goal for 2013 is to be really true to myself and honor my feelings. So crunchy granola, I know, but it’s the mantra I want in the back of my head all year round.

I like to organize my smaller goals into fields because I’m OCD like that and because it helps me focus and decide on goals that will help me become more well rounded. Some of these are serious and intense, and some are definitely silly, but it’s good to have a mix.

Physical:

  1. PR in the 5k
  2. beat 2012 half marathon times
  3. bike a century
  4. try to be more vegetarian
  5. try out full bangs

I like to be ambitious, but I don’t like setting myself up to fail. That’s self defeating and not what I’m about. I like the way I’ve been running, but it’s not conducive to PRing the half. It’s just not. My PR is from a time where I had little else in my life (good and bad) but running, so I devoted 100% focus to it. Now, I’ve got more on my plate, so I’m planning on beating last year’s time, and working hard to PR in the 5k. That feels more manageable.

On the other hand, biking a century sounds impossible at the moment, but you have to have at least one goal that totally scares you, right?

As for the vegetarianism, it might be a work in process. I was a vegetarian for a while. Then I sort of stopped  because it was inconvenient and I found myself feeling badly saying no at other people’s homes. Then I stopped eating gluten and started dating a meat eater, and it seemed impossible to avoid, but, and this sounds silly, this year taught me that I have to be myself. Truly.

I love animals, and I do want to lead a kinder life. Preparing and eating meat always makes me squeamish and a little sad. I was inspired by my amazing friend Debbie (inspirational friends are the best) who is a full fledged vegetarian and manages to never inconvenience anyone, and I thought, welp, it can be done! So, this is my long winded way of saying, I’m going to try and stay really true to myself in 2013, and a good place to start is cooking and eating the foods that I truly feel good about without worrying so much about what other people will think. That’s not to say that if a plate of lovingly prepared chicken is put in front of that I will say no, but I’ll only say yes, if that loving feeling (ooooh that loving feeling) outweighs my guilt.

Oh and the bangs thing? I just think that’d be fun!

Mental:

  1. read 15 books
  2. learn a new skill, preferably with my hands

I set a goal of 12 books last year, and knocked it out of the park. This isn’t really hard for me as I love to read, but I like ticking them off, and it gives me a goal I can feel pretty confident about. As for the skill, I feel like dexterity is one of my biggest weaknesses. I watch Chris play the guitar, bass, whatever all the time and am always so impressed at his skill. I’m not trying to learn guitar (that would require an ear for music, which I definitely do not have) but maybe knitting would be nice. I’m 100 years old. I know, but my boyfriend’s in a band! That counts, right? No? Ok.

Emotional/Spiritual:

  1. practice patience and kindness
  2. continue volunteering with Alpha Chi

The first goal is so vague, it might be hard to track, but I’ll record it as a pass only for the months where I can genuinely say I thought before speaking, gave others the benefit of the doubt, and approached everyone with gentleness and respect more often than not. Not so easy now, huh?

I’m signing on for another year with my Rutgers’ Alpha Chi Omegas, and I want this year to be great. Months where I meet this goal will be month’s where I felt I devoted the time to Alpha Chi that it needed. Months where I did the bare minimum or dropped the ball will be fails. I’m not trying to be extra hard on myself, I just think that applying myself is an awesome skill I need to work on.

Financial:

  1. fully fund my 3 months living expenses emergency savings account
  2. pay off my smallest student loan

I am so embarrassed that I don’t have a fully funded emergency account.  I will be 26 in 2013, and have been working full time since I was 22 1/2. Finally in 2012, I started contributing to my deferred compensation fund (sort of like a 401k for the public sector), and I only carry student loan debt (no credit card debt), but still, a 26 year old shouldn’t be in dire straits in the event of a rainy day. So, it’s going to require a little belt tightening on my part, but I’d really like to take advantage of the blessing of a steady paycheck and fully fund that sucker!!

I have about $27k of student loan debt remaining, and I realizing that makes me incredibly fortunate by many standards. Student loan debt is not harmful to your credit, so I’m not in a rush to pay it off. My other financial goals take precedent, but my smallest loan is only $2k, so I should be able to swing that this year.

I’m not sure how much I’ll detail these goals. I find it very helpful when I read blogs with detailed personal budgets, but I know some people are uncomfortable talking about finances. I have to see what feels natural and works, but I’ll try and share the ups and downs of my spending habits.

Professional:

  1. become a CIA

I’m so close I can taste this one. I’m one exam and one letter of recommendation away from being a Certified Internal Auditor. I know that no one cares about that, but I do. Truthfully, I should have gotten this done years ago, but I’ve been dragging my feet. My life is certainly not going to get any less complicated, so it’s now or never, and I choose now!

 

So, those are the goals. I’m granting myself permission to make additions/subtractions/adjustments at any point because a year is a long time.

 

What about you? How will you become stronger, smarter, kinder, richer (hah!) and more professional in 2013?

5 thoughts on “2013 Goals

  1. I just paid off all my student loans 🙂 It feels soooo good 🙂 We are sooo very close to becoming totally debt free… well other than our mortgage.

    Also I knit. 🙂 It’s fun and not hard at all! You will love it!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Book Club Review: Midwives « I Broke my Umbrella

  3. Pingback: Down on the farm « I Broke my Umbrella

  4. Pingback: that time I went vegetarian by eating a steak « I Broke my Umbrella

  5. Pingback: An update on goals | i broke my umbrella

Leave a Reply

