Meet the Parents

Let me preface this by saying, I have no pictures. I was a terrible blogger and took zero pictures of what ended up being a very fun and productive weekend. I wish I did, but I want to write it all anyway.

Friday night Chris and I headed south to Freehold for Lindsey’s birthday dinner at The American Hotel. The food was good, and the place was nice, but we were surprised to learn that it turns into a nightclub for cougars after 10pm. I’ve never seen so many moms shaking it to Flo Rida. It was… interesting. We had a great time catching up with everyone and toasting to Lindsey.

Saturday morning we went to see our first wedding venue! We suspected it would also be the most expensive venue on our list, and it looks like we were right. At least, I hope we were right! We would love to get married in Jersey City because it means so much to both of us, but it’s also crazy expensive. We’re paying for this shindig ourselves, and staying within budget is critical. Still, we wanted to at least see Maritime Parc so we could know. The woman who helped us was lovely, and actually taught us quite a bit about weddings. For example, we were so proud to have already finished putting together our guest list. When we told her our number was under 100 (92 at the moment) she asked us if we remembered to count ourselves. No, no we did not. Lesson learned.

We got a tour of the venue which has stunning views of both the Statue of Liberty and the New York skyline, but even with our small(ish) guest list, we will still most likely be priced out of Maritime Parc. We were disappointed, but the more we thought about it, the more sense it made. We would have been very small fish to them. They basically told us, we’d have to book a date that matched with a bigger wedding because it wouldn’t be worth it for them to even open the place with our small group. I realize a lot of venues host multiple events at once, but I would still like to feel like our event is a big deal to them. It will be to us!

Saturday night, we drove up to Montclair to meet my mom and sister and Chris’ family. It was the first time everyone had met before, and of course Chris and I were the last to arrive. No matter, our families found each other, and we walked into the restaurant to find everyone happily chatting away. Admittedly, we were a bit nervous, but the night went so well! I got to talk wedding details all night with the ladies, and it was very surreal to see all the people I love in one room around one table. I’m so excited to be marrying Chris because he really is the love of my life, but I’m pretty much equally excited to join our families. It sounds so old-school to say that, but I really do love Chris’ family, and my family loves him, and I’m just so excited for everyone to get to know and love each other.

Today we cleaned house and relaxed, which was lovely. I watched a ton of Game of Thrones this weekend. I’ve read 2.5 of the books now, and had started watching Season One a few months ago, but couldn’t get into it. I came back to it, and now I’m hooked.

Chris had a big, huge project that consumed most of his free time this weekend, and it’s really neat! He basically made our apartment it’s own computer network. I’ll butcher the explanation if I try and go into too much detail, but basically he bought a giant storage device and converted all of our file storage over to it. Then, he wiped both of our local hard drives on our computers and reinstalled the operating systems as if they were new computers! It’s amazing. My computer is going on 5 years old, and it’s been running like molasses on a cold day for a while now. I hate using it, and it’s really impacted my desire to blog. It used to take like 30 minutes just to upload photos, and it was killing me. Now, it’s like a dream! I always knew it was all my music and photos slowing my computer down, but who wants to delete all that stuff? Turns out, I didn’t have to! Now, I still have access to all my media, but none of it is stored on my local hard drive, which means my computer is operating with maximum memory. It’s really something.

That was our lovely weekend. I wish I could do it all again.

Leave a Reply

