House Hunting: The Move

So after all the work we did over the weekend, the only thing left to do was move. Easy, right? Wrong. As I’ve said many, many times, we don’t have a lot of stuff, and we did a lot of packing leading up to Monday, so we were pretty prepared. Our movers told us they’d  be there between 9 and 12, so I assumed they’d show up around 11:30, and I’d have plenty of time to pack up those last minute items the morning of the move. You know the ilk: toothbrushes, bath towels, um … the cats!

IMG_2760

Well, you can imagine my surprise, when the mover’s arrived at 9:15. There were 5 big guys, and things moved so quickly! These guys came ready to work. I asked them for a few minutes to put the cats in their carriers (something I had planned to do before large, strange men came in the house to scare them ((actually, they were lovely, but our cats scare easily)) but again, I thought I’d have more time). There is no graceful way to put two scared cats in cages. No matter how you do it, you look like the world’s worst, meanest pet parent. I’m sure these guys thought I was downright cruel the way the cats looked and sounded, but they were fine. I promise.

After the cats were locked and loaded, I put them in the bathroom to minimize the noise-induced terror, and the guys got moving. In about 45 minutes, they had all our boxes, bags, and furniture in the moving van and ready to go. I was in shock. I ran around like a chicken with my head cut off shoving last minute items into suitcases, half empty boxes and garbage bags. Needless to say, my oh-so-organized packing plan went right out the window. Once they were loaded, directions in hand, they headed out, and Chris and I had a few minutes to take a breath, load the car and hit the road.

The cats hated the car. Miles meow’ed the entire way. Moshi went catatonic. We both felt so bad for them. There’s just no good way to explain to pets what’s going on. Still, we made it there without event despite early morning rain storms, and stowed the cats in the mudroom to avoid any escapes with the mover’s coming and going.

IMG_2769

The guys arrived about 20 minutes after we did, and the unpacking moved even more quickly! They were so gentle with our furniture and newly painted walls and made sure to stop and ask where every piece and box belonged. I have never had such a pleasant moving experience. Those guys were worth every penny. Speaking of pennies, guess who packed their checkbooks… these guys! Whoops! Obviously, they were ok with cash, so I made a quick trip to the bank (and a stop for pizza!) and made it back shortly after the guys finished unloading.

Luckily for us, our Verizon installer was able to come earlier than his scheduled 1-5 window, so he arrived as the movers were wrapping up and got to work setting up our Fios. We lunched while he worked, and once he was finished, we got to work ourselves.

The first order of business for me was the kitchen. We had already set the bathroom up over the weekend, and in my opinion, you can survive a pretty long time in a new house with just a bathroom, kitchen, bed sheets on the bed, and a few clean outfits. The kitchen seems to always take the most time, so I figured I should start there to avoid trying to tackle it later in the day when I was feeling burnt out. It took me about 2 hours to unpack, put away and clean the floors again. The most time consuming part was just unwrapping each individual plate, glass and mug, but to my credit, all those hours spent wrapping and unwrapping paid off with zero broken dishes.

Next, it was on to the bedroom. This took longer than I thought mostly because I have so much more space! I’m used to hanging as much as I can and stuffing the rest in drawers, storage bins and boxes, but now I had to really think about how I wanted to spread my clothes out. It was kind of lovely. I had just enough energy left to put the sheets on the bed before collapsing on the couch for a break. Chris tackled getting all the electronics plugged in and set up, setting up our wireless network, installing like 8 sets of blinds and putting all his clothes away. We’re a pretty good team.

Right around our break time, my mom stopped by on her way home from work. Only then did it hit me just how long we had been up and running! Talk about exhausting! It was really nice to see my mom. It’s so surreal to think that just a year ago, I was living in Jersey City and she was all the way in South Carolina, and now, we live 30 minutes apart!

After mom left, I scrubbed down the living room before hopping in the shower. The term “hot mess” had never been so fitting. Chris and I, on the brink of delirium, went to Target to pick up a lamp (our living room has no lighting now that the wall sconces are gone) and a few things for dinner. Thank you Bertolli frozen entrees for helping put the quickest dinner ever on our table. Even though we didn’t sit down to eat until 9:30, we had to laugh considering that was the earliest we’d eaten in days! This is coming from the pair that normally eats at 6:45. Moving is just insane.

So, right about now, we have a few rooms totally done, a few rooms partially set up and most rooms completely empty! We definitely have more rooms than we have things, but having spent the last 8 years of my life in the opposite situation, this feels like a very fortunate problem to have.

One thought on “House Hunting: The Move

Leave a Reply

