Book Club Review: Quiet

9780307352149_custom-5b5ce2e8d8a1c22ef8fa885da61cbc226d88337b-s6-c30

So after my love affair with the Game of Thrones book ended, I needed some new reading material. I was a little over fiction-ed so I went with a non-fic pick I’d seen all over the interwebs: Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking.

I’ve always considered myself an introvert, so I figured this book would be like peeking into mine own soul. Imagine mine own surprise when I realized a few chapters in that I actually exhibit almost zero “introvert traits.” See, I always thought my severe aversion to the vast majority of people made me an introvert when in fact it just makes me an agoraphobic misanthrope. Go figure.

Once I got over the initial shock of discovering I’m just a rather rude extrovert (I love public speaking! I’ve never been called shy! I just don’t like many people!) I really enjoyed this book. It’s pretty clear that Susan Cain favors introverted souls and believes they’ve been grossly under-appreciated in modern history. Quiet should definitely not be approached as an objective research paper, but it’s still very educational and interesting.

This was one of those rare pieces of non-fiction that kept me reading voraciously into the night. I felt an urgency to read on, and I appreciated the the organizational flow of the book. It’s very compelling writing. If you’re a true introvert, I think this book must be like reading your personal owner’s manual. If not, it’s a great foray into how the other half (well, other 1/3-1/2) lives. I think it’s a valuable, enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

