An update on goals

This was actually going to be a longer post if you can believe it, but I’ve been experimenting with the WordPress app for iPad (SO much easier to insert photos), and well, it ate my post. I’m too tired to reconstruct the whole thing, so lets just discuss some goals shall we?

I had all these goals that I started the year with, and then my life took some amazing turns and all the plans I made in January didn’t all fit.

In case you missed it, in February, Chris proposed and I said, “Of course!” We started buying a home in April and moved out of the city I’ve live in for five years in June. Oh and then I started a brand new job last week. Phew! Obviously, these are all amazing things, but if I’m being honest, I’m really not sure how to handle it all.

Then there’s the running. For some stupid reason, this is also the year that my brain decided to be all “MARATHON MARATHON MARATHON” when I already have 1 million things going on. Partly this desire comes from the fact that somehow 13.1 miles now feels like a reasonable distance, so I guess that means I’m ready for more insanity. The other part comes from my obsessive life planning.

Basically, I know I won’t want to train for a marathon next year. Chris and I will be in the throes of wedding planning, and I just can’t see myself running 14 miles the day after my bachelorette party. I’d probably like to run one my first year as a wife, but after that, I think we’ll probably start thinking about a family, and I don’t think first pregnancies are a time for first marathons. I feel like I’d like to get two marathons (one disastrous, another slightly less disastrous) in before I hang up my shoes for a bit, so I feel like I have to do one this year. Obviously, I don’t have to, but I guess I mean I’d like to. Not that I’ve over thought this or anything. That would be unlike me.

The problem is, I just don’t know if I can do it right now. Between actual work and commuting, “work” takes up 13 hours of my day on a good day. I start getting ready at 5:30am and am lucky to be walking in the door at 6:45pm. I know this is nothing for most adults, but my commute for the past five years has been 20 minutes. I’ve been struggling to get in 5 runs a week when my longest non-long-run-run is 4 miles. I’m terrified to think about how I’m going to run 8 miles on a week night. Plus, I’m slow. I haven’t devoted much time or attention to getting faster, so it takes me a long time to work out this mileage.

My temporary goal is to make it to the half marathon in September, and then make a decision from there. If the marathon isn’t on the horizon, maybe I’ll turn my focus back to speed for a little while.
So there. Those are my #runningproblems.

And now for an update on all those other goals I set:

Bike a century– Hah! If I can’t fit in 2 hour runs, I certainly cannot fit in 4 hour bike rides. The bike is tough for me because it requires so much more time and gear and attention. I still want to do this, but not in 2013.

Go more vegetarian– Sadly, I haven’t even really been trying on this one. Despite all the good, 2013 has also been the year of the stomach disasters. Most times, I’m just trying to eat something that will stay in my system long enough to have some nutritional benefit. Gross, I know. Raw vegetables have been impossible most of this year, and cooked have not been a whole lot better. Most troubling, beans are decidedly out as a protein source. I really don’t want to rely solely on soy for my protein needs, so I’ve been relying a lot on baked, bland chicken and easy to digest starches.

I try to eat veggies on the good days and will usually opt for a vegetarian meal when dining out or at lunch when my stomach is feeling more stable, but that’s the best I can do. I’m taking this one off the list because I’d rather be healthy than anything else, and I don’t want to make myself feel guilty for things I can’t control.

Grow bangs– Out! To lighten the mood a bit, bangs are decidedly out. The year before your wedding is not the time to try out new hairstyles. Even this dense girl knows that. So, I’m growing my hair to an even length and not messing around with it. Until next year bangs!

Read 15 books– I got a little caught on Game of Thrones (which I think should count for more than 5 books) so I’m not halfway through this goal yet, but I still think I can pull this one off.

Learn a new skill (preferably with my hands)– I’ve actually learned a lot of new skills this year thanks to the house. I’ve learned everything from applying for a mortgage to negotiating with contractors to spray painting and removing wallpaper. Let’s call this one good!

Practice patience and kindness– This is the one goal I still think of every day. I am really making a conscious effort to show more patience and kindness both with others and to myself. Again, I feel so blessed and fortunate for all the good things that have happened to me this year, that any time I catch myself feeling frustrated or acting rudely, I stop immediately and remind myself that I have nothing to be upset about.

Volunteer with Alpha Chi– Hah! Obviously, I couldn’t have known at the start of this year that they’d shut my chapter down by the first quarter, but such is life. I could volunteer with another part of the organization, but I won’t. Fool me once and all that…. I would like to find another volunteer organization to devote some time to though.

Fund my emergency savings with 3 months expenses– Hah! Bought a house. Planning a wedding. No available funds.

Pay off my smallest student loan– Hah! See above.

Become a CIA– This is still one of the things I’m most proud of this year. I did it! It was a longer road than it could have been, but I stuck with it, and I’m so glad I did! It’s nice to have some letters after my name!

So those are my goals. Things change, and you have to be flexible. I’m glad I’ve been able to do as much as I have, and I love all these goals, so for the ones I won’t be getting to in 2013, most will be carryovers to a time when I can devote more energy to them. Until then, I think I have enough to work on and so much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

