Work it out: 8/12

Ok! After writing about the marathon, I realized this is something I would like to at least try this year. So, I decided to do something about the plan I was following unhappily. I got the plan from Runner’s World, and I just didn’t love it. The long runs weren’t bad, but there were a lot of weekday runs, and they were long. That just doesn’t work for my schedule right now. I compared the plan to Hal Higdon’s Novice Two and realized that it had me running more the 50 miles more over the course of the plan. People seem to have nothing but good things to say about Hal Higdon, so I figured if I could save myself 50 miles and some time, I’d do it. I’ve now adjusted my plan, and I feel a lot better.

Monday- planned rest and the best Italian food I’ve had in a long, long time.

Tuesday- semi planned rest. I had plans to meet Judy for dinner after work then somehow figured I’d find the energy and will to run when I got home. Even though dinner was early, the commute killed me, and when I got home around 9, I scrapped my plans.

Wednesday- 3.5 very dark miles. We did a run with Debbie and Mike, and I guess summer is really ending because it was pitch black by 8. It was creepy with 3 other people, so it confirmed my decision not to run alone before or after dark. Avg pace: 10 ish.

Thursday- rest day. Just a marathon day of sitting in the car and eating horrible food.

20130817-001417.jpg

Friday- 10 miles! Well, probably pretty darn close to that. We ran through the beautiful rolling hills of Wisconsin (I was as surprised as you to find hills in the Midwest). It was so fun, and running with Deb and the boys made the miles fly by. Though I ran with my Garmin, I did a terrible job of starting and pausing it, so let’s say avg pace was 11:30. I had no stomach problems this time thank goodness, and I feel great getting to this point. From 10, it’s only a 5k more to a half. I can do this!

20130817-001522.jpg

20130817-001555.jpg

20130817-001619.jpg

Saturday- 3 miles. I thought I was going to feel terrible following Friday’s hilly endeavor, but I actually felt ok. I think going slowly and taking walking breaks helped. So, I set out for 3 miles. I feel like maybe I could have done 6, but I wasn’t sure it was a great idea, and I didn’t want everyone at the house waiting an hour for me to get back to get breakfast. So I did three. My legs felt a little heavy when I got out there, but I ran a few ugly (actually everything was so beautiful in Lake Geneva, but you get the idea) hills without stopping. Avg pace: 10:23

Sunday- semi-planned rest. After having way too much fun at Cam & Rich’s wedding, I opted to sleep in until it was time to hit the road again. We broke the trip up into two parts for the ride home, so we had a little wiggle room when it came to leaving later. I didn’t have anymore clean running clothed anyway.

Even though I missed 6 miles on my schedule this week, it went a lot better than I expected. Considering I was out of town for 4 out of 7 days including 2 whole days in the car, I feel good about getting 16 miles including my long run in. Still, it’s time to get serious. I have many miles to go before I can sleep.

Leave a Reply

