Work it out 9/9

Well, here we are. It’s the Rock n Roll Philly half marathon week!

This is coming at you early because I’m done running until Sunday!

I’m nervous. I put a lot of pressure on myself to perform this week in preparation for a strong half because I’m leaning towards not continuing my training for a marathon. I just don’t think my heart is in it. I’ll touch on it more in another post, but I’m not sure now is the right time.

It was a weird week for me. I opted to taper because, as I said, I don’t think I’ll keep pursuing the marathon. I wanted to prep for a strong half. The lower mileage messed with my head though. I started second guessing all my training and got hit with a major case of the taper crazies. Lets review:

Monday- 3.5 miles. I so wanted to rest my weary legs, but I was desperate to get three runs in this week (hah!), and I’m glad I did this because it ended up being my longest run. My legs felt heavy and sore for the first mile, but the weather was cool, and I hit my stride finishing the first 3 miles in 29:50. I opted to cool down for the last .5 and finished the whole run in 35:18. As soon as I slowed down, I felt it. My quads were burning, and I was so happy to get home and stretch.

Oh and my stupid shoes, the ones I was hoping to wear on all my runs this week as a test for the half, came 10 minutes after I stepped out for my run. Grrr.

Tuesday- rest. I had plans to go to dinner. Those fell through, so I made plans to go to our local Newcomers (a group for new moms (not me!!) or people new to Cranford (me!)). I try not to be a disgusting mess the first few times I interact with new people, so I skipped my run. Actually, funny story, a few of my neighbors are in the group, and they didn’t recognize me without my trademark tempos and Mizuno’s. I’m a doll.

Wednesday- 2.4 miles. Everyone who starts September crowing about Pumpkin Spice Lattes, boots and scarves can go kick rocks. It was 95* with 85% humidity in the second week of September in the Northeast. Comfy in your boots are ya?

Anyway, it was hot. Both my mom and Chris expressed genuine concern about my decision to run. It’s pretty rare to find these two on the same page, so I took heed. It was hot. The air just felt thick with every breath. I paid little attention to my Garmin and tried to just run a teeny loop. I was aiming for 2 (rather than my planned 3.5) but overshot a bit. Avg pace: 9:26. Too fast but once I had it in my head that it was a short run, I just sorta went all out.

Thursday- unplanned rest. For the first time in my life, I don’t really want to elaborate. This was the last day I was allowing myself to run before fully resting for the half. I missed my window before the thunderstorms rolled through and raged all night. I needed this run to keep the taper crazies at bay. When it didn’t happen, the floodgates of brain opened, and it was just a sea of doubt and second guessing. Disappointed.

So yeah. It wasn’t my ideal taper week on the training front, but it’s time to put faith in what I’ve done up until now. Debating the marathon has left me questioning all my training. Like, if I wasn’t going to run it, could I have done more for this race? Maybe.

But I’m proud of what I did accomplish. I ran at least 3 times a week every week for 12 weeks. I did 2 twelve milers and 2 ten milers. I ran long runs in 3 different states all while adjusting to a much longer work day and all new running routes. I’ve been taking my vitamins, drinking lots of water and eating every carb in sight this week. I’ve got a day with friends before the race to clear my head. I’ve got start line buddies and a killer playlist. And I’ve got the Newport Half (which I love) next week. I’ll worry about the marathon another day. I’m officially done obsessing. For this week at least.

Leave a Reply

