Weekly workouts anyway

Oh well, my hamstring situation isn’t getting any better, and according to Dr. Google, I can expect not to run for at least a month. The good news is that it isn’t getting any worse. It’s an odd feeling. Mostly, I just notice my hamstring the entire time I’m running. Then, when I finish, it’s stiff and sore whenever I’m climbing stairs or walking on any type of incline. Because my commute involves 4 miles a day of walking, and there isn’t any way around that, I’m not too interested in pushing it and really hurting something. So, for now, running has take a backseat. I should be stretching and foam rolling more, but I never want to. Here’s what I’ve been up to instead :

Monday-Wednesday-45 minutes on the spin bike. I probably shouldn’t be doing any standing climbs, but it doesn’t hurt during or after, so I’m just being careful.

20131202-191234.jpg

Thursday- Chris and I did our own little turkey trot around town so I could test things out. It had been a week and a half since I last ran, and I was interested to see how I felt. I planned on doing 2 miles but felt good enough to do 3. As I mentioned above, it’s not excruciating pain, and it doesn’t force me to stop, I just feel it the whole time. I was hoping I’d feel good enough to tackle Saturday’s 5 miler, but I just couldn’t justify it based on how sore my leg felt the rest of the day. Luckily, I was able to drown my sorrows in Turkey. And stuffing. So much stuffing.

20131202-191459.jpg
yes that’s turkey (under the cranberry relish) AND chicken cutlet. we are Italian.

Friday- 60 minutes spinning with a video I found on YouTube and then some arm and shoulder weights. It felt good to pump some iron (5lb weights like a boss). I wrapped it up with some foam rolling.

Saturday & Sunday- rest with a healthy side of race support. Chris ran the 5 miler that I skipped, and he did so well. And since it’s a local race, nobody gave me the stink eye for enjoying the steaming hot soup served post race. Hey, supporters need delicious warmth too!

20131202-191825.jpg

20131202-191838.jpg

So that was my week. I’m not running, and it kind of sucks, but it is what it is. It could be worse. It could have come at a worse time. I, trying to keep myself busy and do the things that will get me back on the road (treadmill) sooner. Really, that’s all I can do.

Leave a Reply

