A (literal) pain in the butt

Despite resolving not to make resolutions, I think it’s impossible to get through January without considering fitness goals. So, I figured it was time for an update on my current state. Unfortunately, the update is not to be had. There are no changes. My hamstring (butt) pain lingers on continuing to get no better or worse. Plus one for consistency. Minus one for general suckiness.

Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure this means running is off the table for a while. I was started to think I could get back into it this month until I had to dart across the street (you know to avoid getting run over and all) and as soon as I quickened my step, I felt my hamstring. Bam. No good. Fortunately, this was never going to be The Year of Running. Before the hamstring stuff even started, I decided not to run a half marathon this year. I just think it would be too much on top of the wedding planning. Also, running a lot leaves me in less than ideal shape, so I’m hoping by shifting my focus I can tone and tighten before the wedding.

Still, running is a big stress reliever for me, and I’m a little nervous about what I’ll do if I can’t run for a few months. It’s already been a month, and while I’d be lying if I said I was itching to get out there (sub zero temps? No thanks), I am starting to miss it.

Thanks to my new longer work/commute hours and not great insurance, going to the doctor is now reserved for those ailments where it is truly necessary. I googled around a bit and aside from diagnosing it properly and prescribing PT (which I certainly do not have the time or $$ for), there’s not much a doctor can do. So I’ve ruled out seeing a doctor unless it gets worse.

The Internet recommends rest (doing that), ice (will have to start doing that) and can’t agree on whether stretching is absolutely necessary or completely detrimental. Ugh. I guess I’ll go by feel on that part. Usually, my leg feels better after some stretching and foam rolling.

In the mean time, I’m still doing the spin bike which usually creates a little soreness. I think it’s just due to the pressure in the area from the saddle. As long as I take it easy on the climbs, I’m generally ok. I haven’t been to the gym since before Thanksgiving. It just doesn’t fit with my schedule. I got a membership so I could run somewhere safe and warm in the morning, but since I’m not running, I just do the bike at home. I thought about taking classes, but usually coming home only to turn right around and head back out the door for a 7:30 class is the last thing I want to do. So I’m dropping it or at least dropping the class pass portion.

Chris and I did a couple more circuit workouts in the basement, and I’m really digging those.

Some days the only exercise I get is my 4 mile walk commute, and I’m ok with that too. So, think happy thoughts for this lousy muscle of mine. Fingers crossed I’ll be back out there before I’m a Mrs.!

Leave a Reply

