Winter is winning

I keep meaning to post. I really do. Then I try to think of things worth mentioning, and I just curl up under another blanket instead. Winter is kicking my ass. This is something because I am not generally a wimp about winter. When we headed into the season I was really ready for the cold weather forcing everybody to stay inside and slow down. The hermit lifestyle suits me. When it snowed right around Christmas, it was beautiful. When we got a major storm every week in January, I said, “It’s winter. What does everyone expect?” And I soldiered on. I kept telling Chris (who DOES NOT LOVE winter) to buck up! Then… I lost it.

By our second week of multiple snow storms, after my 100th hour shoveling and my 1,000,000th night walking home in the dark in the street (because the sidewalks are impassable) praying I wouldn’t get run over, I snapped. I finally joined the ranks of the winter haters and just about broke down last weekend. I tried to keep my spirits up all day as I watched our third snowfall of the week descend on us. I gritted my teeth as we headed to the grocery store to stock up for yet another homebound week. Then, a man in a giant SUV honked at us for taking a hairpin left turn slowly in our little Mazda. He continued honking as we obeyed the speed limit on ice covered roads. He persisted in his honking crusade even after watching us fishtail twice. God bless Chris for continuing to drive because I just put my head in my hands and cried. I could not take it one more minute.

We finally made it home, and I unleashed the fury of 1,000 icy days. I won’t recount it here, because it was not my finest moment, but it ended up being just what I needed. Chris and I worked each other up so much we were laughing by the end of it.

For the rest of the weekend, I did what I always do when I get to the end of my rope. I pretended to be a rebel and shirked my obligations for the next day. I skipped church and stayed in bed until 10:30. I refused to clean the house and loafed around in pjs until it was time to go pick out wedding invitations. Of course, my old sensible self didn’t stay away long. By early evening, I had emailed the priest to apologize for missing my catechism, read the days verses on my own, vacuumed and done three loads of laundry. Still, it was nice to say f*ck it for a little while.

So, yeah, winter is winning, but we are surviving, and spring is in sight.

What else is new? Well, we are trying to adopt a dog, and it is terrible and heartbreaking, but I have been wanting to do this for years, and I am more terrifying when I am chasing what I want. We met a dog who meets exactly none of our “qualifications for the ideal dog,” but we love him, and I would like him to be ours very much. So far, we have made very little progress, but I’m hopefully.

I’ve been running. Sort of. I ran 1 mile then 2 miles twice. My still hurts. I don’t think the 8 weeks of rest did anything. It might be time to throw in the towel and see a doctor for some real advice.

Our wedding is in less than 5 months and it is getting REAL! We booked the last of our vendors last week, so now we have the incidentals to handle. I told my boss about the vacation time I will need, and I am so, so excited.

Leave a Reply

