Wedding Wednesday: Home Stretch

My last update was when were were a little more than 3 months out. Now that we’re withing the 2 month range (<— cannot believe that!) it’s a good time to pop back in with some updates.

Things have changed dramatically since my last update. I wasn’t exactly cool as a cucumber last time, but I definitely made the transition to full blown wedding obsession this month. This was a surprise even to me because I really wasn’t that into the wedding for most of last year. I was actually a little embarrassed to admit it because I thought that meant I wasn’t excited, but now I realize I was probably just holding back out of a sense of self (and relationship) preservation. If I felt like I do now for the last 15 months, I would have lost my mind, my fiance or both.

I didn’t really think I’d get to this point because I’m not someone who has fantasized about this day for years, but it’s true, I am now all wedding all the time. I actually feel bad for my family and friends because I know how annoying I sound, but I can’t stop. I’m making an effort to rein it in though. I really am.

I don’t know what it is that caused this change, but if I had to guess, it would be reading about weddings online. It started innocently enough, I was looking for inspiration for hair and makeup ideas for my upcoming trials, but it quickly spiraled into maddness. I had been telling everyone for months that “basically everything is done” but reading these recaps made me think of all the little stuff that still has to come together.

My life is lists right now. I’ll spare you the full Master List (currently 3 pages long) but give you a little insight into what sorts of things I forgot about until I started reading about weddings:

  • Notes for Chris and my family
  • Toasts
  • A box for cards (sounds silly, but I do need one)
  • Favors for guests
  • Rehearsal dinner logistics
  • Small decorations for the venue and rehearsal space

Really, a lot of big stuff is done. We mailed our inviations on Monday which was scary and final and amazing. My mom and Chris have done a great job of helping me keep things in perspective. My mom assured me that no one will care if we don’t provide programs for the ceremony, so I let that one go. Chris encouraged me to check with the venue to see if they provide table numbers before I freaked out about DIY-ing them myself. Still, there are things that need to happen.

Luckily, I’m not a panicker (not for long at least), I’m a planner, so once I started making lists, things started making sense. I ordered some cards for the notes I plan on giving out on the wedding day and brainstormed some bridesmaid gift ideas. I ordered a card box, reserved our rehearsal space for our date and made an appointment to get our marriage license. My wheels are currently spinning about the favors, and I’m hoping to have a decision on that by the end of the week. When it’s not totally stressful, it’s actually kind of fun.

Emotionally, life has been a bit of a roller coaster. Everything feels heightened. My sads are really sad, and my happy is ecstatic. I’m not normally like this, so it’s a little unsettling. We’ve had some drama going on in other areas of our lives, and it’s really effected me. Honestly, it’s probably part of the reason I’ve really gotten it in gear with all this wedding stuff. Sometimes when everything else is going crazy, it’s nice to intensely focus all that nervous energy on something.

The only thing I’m still really nervous about is the bridal shower. There’s a lot of competing interests at play, and I’m “on my own” without Chris there. I’m hoping when that passes, things will be a little easier for me.

On a positive note, I really feel like all of us (me, Chris, my family, his family) are acting like a unit. There were various periods of tension scattered throughout this planning process, but we’ve mended fences and really do feel like a family.

I have a feeling these next two months are going to fly by and before I know it, we’ll be on a plane to Italy. Oh yeah, the best update of all? We’re headed to Rome after the wedding and I cannot wait to visit Italy with MY HUSBAND! Ahh!

Leave a Reply

