Marathon Training Week 17

Last week was the perfect week to get me psyched for this race. My body felt lighter and more rested than last week, and I really enjoyed all my runs. Buoyed by some outside of running good news on Thursday, I was flying high all week!

Monday I was supposed to run 4 miles, but my sister called as I was getting ready for the gym and said she needed to vent. When your sister needs to vent, you change your plans. That’s just part of the deal. Anyway, I headed out later than I planned so I just did Thursday’s 3 miles instead. It was probably a good move anyway since I was still sore from the previous week’s long run. Three miles *almost* felt like cheating. I couldn’t believe I was done as soon as I was. I actually missed running longer. Weird.

I felt a little under the weather all day Tuesday. I actually think it has something to do with the weather which has been yo-yoing lately. There was frost on the ground Tuesday morning, but it was 65 on my walk home. I hate that.

Anyway, I took some Advil and hopped on the treadmill to knock out my last midweek long run. 6 miles with The Wire. I had a little stomach troubles for the first half, but they went away, and it was a great run. It put me in a good mood for the rest of the night.

I took Wednesday off to celebrate my four month-iversary with that husband of mine. Mostly we just really wanted to go to this awesome little farm to table restaurant in our town. It takes like a month to get a reservation, so when I had to pick a date, I figured why not the 12th?

Thursday was a book club night so I had to get my run done in the morning. I got to the gym at 5 am. Yikes. I actually much prefer the gym in the mornings. It’s quiet and not yet 800 degrees. Still, getting up in the 4 am hour never gets any easier. I ran four miles before I even really woke up. Done and done.

Friday was a rest day spent making a million meatballs for the next day’s Friendsgiving. Totally worth it.

Saturday was my last long run of this cycle. Seriously, how has it been 17 weeks already? It was the coldest run yet at 34 degrees when I started. I bundled up and headed out, and I had a really great run. I felt a little twinge in the should I carry my work bag on which nagged me a bit. I’m reminding myself this week to carry less junk to and from work. Chris joined me for the first half which always helps. My legs felt light and springy, and I just thought back on all the long runs before this and got really excited.

Sunday was another rest day. I foam rolled and did my MYRTYL stretches and just tried to absorb that I’m going to run a freaking marathon on Sunday. I mean, wow. This post is already long enough, so I’ll elaborate later, but I’m staring down the barrel of one of my biggest and longest standing goals, and this is just kind of mind blowing.

M- 3 miles
Tu- 6 miles
W- rest
Th- 4 miles
F- rest
Sa- 8 miles
Su- foam roll & stretch

Total miles: 21
Total so far: 410.78

Leave a Reply

