So close!

The marathon is so stinking close! Tomorrow! Unbelievable! I don’t have much to say, but I did want to put my frantic thoughts down on Internet paper.

I started the week feeling really nervous, but now I’m mostly just excited. It’s not just the 18 weeks of training, it’s something I’ve been dreaming about since I ran my first half marathon in 2010.

I am truly bugging out. Any time anyone asks me about it I just make weird squealing noises. I’ll find myself thinking of random things like upcoming appointments and then think, “Oh that’s after the marathon,” and my heart just starts beating a mile a minute. I get a big goofy smile on my face and think, “Holy cow. I am going to run a marathon.”

I’m just generally being an overly analytic weirdo too. Am I drinking enough water or too much? Are cupcakes good carbs? (Yes) Should walk more or sit more? I’m pretty sure nothing you do for a week matters, but it just feels like everything matters right now.

The nerves are still here. How could they not be? My worst fear was that I won’t finish or that I will finish but I won’t enjoy any of it. Then it will be like the last 18 weeks were wasted. To pull myself out of that dark hole, I reminded myself that lots of people don’t finish marathons. It’s one of the most physically taxing endeavors, and if it isn’t my day, that’s ok. If not finishing is the worst thing that happens, I’ll be just fine.

As far as not having fun, well I’m just not going to let that happen. I’m making a point to take it all in and enjoy the experience. You only get one first marathon, and I want to make it count. Even if it hurts, I want to remember that I’m out there because I love it, and I’m so lucky to have running in my life. And no matter what happens, those 18 weeks matter. I proved every week that I could do more than I thought I was capable of, and that is a really cool feeling.

Otherwise, I’m just reminding me that the hay is in the barn. I’ve done the training. I actually stuck remarkably close to the plan, and after the first week, I never missed a run. I definitely could have worked more on strength and flexibility, but there’s always more you can do. I’m happy with what I did.

My only real anxiety surrounds how the heck I’m going to get to the start line at 5:30, but I’m trusting fate and the city of brotherly love to help a sister out. Oh and I have the numbers of 3 taxi companies in my phone.

See ya on the flip side!

Leave a Reply

