Marathon Training Week 18

This was it. The last week of training. I did it, and, spoiler alert, I ran the marathon. It was difficult and amazing, and I was prepared as I could be and not prepared at all. That’s for another post though. Now, let’s talk training.

I took Monday as a rest day as prescribed by my plan. It felt weird not to run and made me think about what it’s going to be like don’t now that this is all over. On the upside, I was able to cook and eat dinner by 8. On the downside, I just felt kind of restless all night. I wasn’t sure what to do with myself.

Tuesday was freezing outside! I had planned to do some runs outside this week to acclimate to the temperature, but dark and 30 degrees is where I draw the line. So, I was back at the gym on the treadmill for 3 miles. My body felt a little stiff, but I think I was just overanalyzing everything.

Wednesday was my last training run at the gym. I had a weird commute and generally long day and expected to feel crummy, but I actually felt great. That was an awesome confidence boost.

Thursday was when things got so real. I completed the last training run of my plan! Since it was 2 miles, I decided to brave it outside. Chris and Layla joined me, so it was hands down the best run I’ve done this whole time. We just talked, and the dog was smiley, and it reminded me that I actually really love running. Sometimes (a lot of the time) training felt like work because a lot of the time it was. I ran when I was tired, sore, cold and sick. Sometimes I ran when I wanted to, but most times I ran because I had to. Thursday was great because it was just fun. It reminded me that my only goal on Sunday is to find the fun in a decidedly challenging situation.

I spent Friday just trying to eat right, drink lots of water and not get hurt. I packed that night and totally freaked out. I mean once you pack your sneakers, it’s on. I foam rolled a bit then went to bed at 9:30. It was glorious.

The cats woke me up earlier than I would have liked Saturday, but it ended up being a nice day. We tried to keep things as normal as possible. We took Layla to the dog park and gave her a bath. Then, I finished packing, and we drove to Philly! I was freaking out the whole car ride, but we made it. The rest is all part of the marathon tale to come. It was a perfect weekend.

M- rest
Tu- 3 miles
W- 4 miles
Th- 2 miles
F- foam roll
Sa- foam roll
Su- 26.2 miles!

Total miles: 35.2
Miles so far: 445.98

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 18

Leave a Reply

